Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel right next to subway.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Close to subways. Close to the international cruise terminal.
Cons: Not really. An update to the decor of the room may help.
Location: Close to Yokohama China town. Easy train acess to Hakone.
Room is too compact for a family of 3. Staff speaks English and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
booked this hotel at a discounted rate, close to JR kannai station, close to a subway, bed was fine but some may find them a bit hard, staff were very helpful, I'd recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jess from QLD, Australia

Nice hotel directly across from subway station

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Good location. A few minutes subway ride into yokohama main area. Convenience store downstairs. Good for a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mission trip from CA

Hotel next to subway, 6min walk to JR Kannai Stn

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Central location, convenience store down stairs. Lots of restaurants nearby - tucked away on a small side street but that seemed very typical to many
Cons: Expedia needs to work on its android apps which crashed a few times during last steps of booking, and didn't register my pref for non-smoking rm only!
We booked it using expedia's android app - which is convenient byt somehow it did not register my preference for non-smoking room only! At the end I had to pay extra 10000yen on the spot to upgrade to one. It showed up when you set options of 2 adults 2 kids. And the upgraded room actually has 3 beds. So pretty good overall despite the booking snafu. Expedia's android booking site was not as helpful as there was no way to enter "2 kids" - so I wasn't sure the ton of results returned with just "2 adults" were really helpful or not.. Overall Yokohama is cheaper, and if you stick with JR line, it is really convenient too! Yokohama subway is a rip off, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: Reasonable price
Cons: Cost of breakfast and lack of service from staff
Location: Good location and within walking distance of JR train line and subway right outside the hotel.
We had an adult and two kids in one double room and I had asked for extra towels for the first night as they only left enough for the normal two persons who would stay in a double room. I had to ask again the next day even though I spoke to the chambermaid and to the front desk to ensure that enough towels would be left out (and no there was no communication barrier as I speak Japanese). The breakfast costs in the main restaurant are quite high and the choice offered in the Chinese restaurant on the 18th floor was disappointing even though the price was very good. We went out most mornings for breakfast to the local family restaurant, Jonathan's, that is within 5 minutes walk of the hotel towards the JR train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

cigarette smoke and dirt

Posted Nov 11, 2011
I stayed at this hotel for a business trip of 8 nights. I reserved a non-smoking room but the room that I was given smelled of cigarette smoke. In fact, the entire hotel smelled of cigarette smoke including the elevators. I attempted to air out the room but the hotel prevents one from opening the window by covering the window bolt with a plastic box. The air conditioning was barely operable and the vent was covered in dirt and mold. The bathroom had mold on some of the tiles. The room was a typical size for a Japanese hotel. However, the furnishings were outdated. The carpet and bed-spread were stained. The hallways were smoke-filled and poorly ventilated. There are better values in the area- Toyoko Inn for example. The hotel was advertised as having English-speaking staff. Be advised that not every member of the staff speaks English. Additionally, all of the English guides are kept behind the desk. The restaurant map in English is difficult to use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 3, 2011
The was the least expensive hotel in the area I needed to be in. However, my room was not as clean as expected. Dirty window curtains, worn and old interior made it very unattractive. No english TV channels. Initially, they did not provide the non-smoking room I had requested (stink). Finally the hotel found a non-smoking room.....right next to the one I had initially. That means, they have smoking and non-smoking rooms on the same floor. A real turn off for me and the reason I will not stay there again. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Hotel Review

Posted Feb 24, 2011
Overall, we were just looking to have a hotel where we could sleep and shower which is pretty much what we got. We weren't expecting much more though since we were in another country. The location was a little rough at night because of the loud street noise and construction in the early morning. Also, the air conditioning did not work well. We were instructed that there would be wireless internet, however it was close to impossible to connect to it and keep the connection. The maid service was wonderful at keeping the rooms very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lausanne

A reasonable deal

Posted Jan 4, 2010
It is a nice and clean hotel in general, but the air is not well circulated in the corridors and rooms. We were assigned a room that had a strong stench of cigarette smoke. So we asked for a non-smoking room and the room was promptly changed. The window of our room could not be opened, and the air conditioner only warmed the air (since it was December), so there was no way to have fresh air in the room. While there was no free breakfast included in the five-night stay, there was a good internet connection for free. The location is pretty good since it is close to two metro stations, one of which stops right in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

It was a good place to stay

Posted Dec 10, 2009
This was a very nice place to stay for the price and location. You can really walk to anywhere in the city from the hotel's location without needing to get on a train which is the best feeling ever.