Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Bell Hill, Kent

Don't be put off by the photos of the hotel !

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was just a 10 minute walk from the town centre, plus there were a couple of shops nearby e.g.a pâtisserie. The parking was good and secure. You should ignore the hotel's own photos that appear on the various internet booking sites as they do not look like the hotel, it is much better than they show. Excellent value for money.
Cons: There was nothing that we disliked. Ditto Ditto Ditto
Location: We only stayed there for one night !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Clean, comfortable hotel. Lovely pool. Friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff went but of their way

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: Fridge and kettle in room.
Location: Lots of small villages nearby, off the tourist trail but worth visiting.
Great staff make the difference and this Hotel has that. Anything we wanted they did their best to provide, printing some emails - no problem. Help with luggage - no problem. You might also want to know that there are some excellent restaurants at reasonable prices in walking distance.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Oxford

Shame about the bed

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Location, attractive town, good restaurants, pool
Cons: Bed comfort - new mattresses!
Location: Take the time to explore the old town to the left of the market square - it is very attractive.
A useful location for a stopover en route to the south of France. The hotel is within walking distance of the town centre and several restaurants - we went to Le chapeau rouge and had a very tasty and good value dinner. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms are those plastic pod type pre-fitted units which are not great for insulating sounds but everything worked and it was neat and clean. The only problem we had was the bed which was truly awful - it was hard and had no padding so you felt every spring. The pillows were either thin (almost non-existant) or hard bolster type. A shame really because a comfortable bed is the only absolute essential for a hotel in my opinion!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Calgary, AB, Canada

Charmingly Functional and Friendly

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Clean and functional rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast..
Cons: No problems at all.
Location: Easy to find on a D highway a few kms from the A6 heading from Lyon to Paris. (Use a map.)
This was a nice little hotel - the staff were very friendly and made the extra effort to walk me to my room and show me around before releasing the key to me. The room and hotel were clean and functional and two of the three staff I dealt with were able to speak English which helped me greatly. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast for nine Euros (great value and varied). If I were to visit Avallon again I would definitely stay here again. BTW - if you're a Freeway traveler in Europe you may want to take a different route back to the A6 than what you came out on ... the D highways here are really beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Séjour en famille

Posted Nov 2, 2014
En couple avec 3 enfants, très bon accueil du personnel qui a été de très bon conseil sur les endroits a visiter et les restaurants ou déjeuner. Petit déjeuner très correct, chambre familiale confortable et spacieuse. Très bon rapport qualité prix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Hôtel accueillant , personnel dévoué

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: simple et tranquille
Cons: dommage il y avait qu'une petite bouteille d'eau dans la chambre pour la nuit , quand on est deux , hic ...
il est rare de trouver dans un hôtel, le cahier d'explication dans la chambre aussi détaillé, avec les tarifs. Pd correcte, rien a redire .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfort

hôtel accueillant bien placé

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: le calme le confort
Cons: la qualité des matelas
bien en tout personnel à l'écoute pelouse et espaces verts
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sober maar netjes

Posted Jul 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carina from Mölndal, Sverige

Mycket trevligt hotell

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Personalen var angelägen om att man skulle trivas
Location: Gångavstånd in till charmiga Avallon
Mycket trevlig personal. Rent och snyggt. Fin pool.