Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Ideal location, lovely staff

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Lovely Staff
Cons: nothing
Location: easy access to York and surrounding attractions
Picked this location as my daughter competing at Castle Howard Triathlon. Lovely and quite with grounds suitable for run/bike before racing and small gym. Staff so helpful especially Jodey who could not do enough to look after us. Really appreciated the friendly relaxed staff and set up here, rooms clean, quiet. Thank you. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Good sized room and comfortable beds.
Cons: Bathroom was very basic.
Location: Pleasant surroundings and not far from village pubs.
Pleasant grounds and plenty of parking space. Breakfast was good and staff were efficient and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Perfect for our needs

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Lovely hotel....friendly comfortable and clean. Adjacent to The York Bird of Prey Centre, which was a wonderful day out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice hotel in a quite location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Quite
Cons: Not a lot really, draught beers maybe
Location: Close to several tourist places
Hotel in well kept grounds, very clean throughout the hotel, staff very polite and helpful, food did not disappoint but felt the drinks on draught Bitter & Larger could improve with maybe a regular cleaning of the pipes ? Cider was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WsM Avon

Rural surrounds, convenient for touring Yorkshire

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Overall disappointment as a special destination to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We chose Best Western from previous experience but whilst the hotel was adequate it lacked that sparkle we were seeking. Perhaps we should have been less impetuous and chosen more carefully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: As we said abive
Cons: Bar could be better stocked
Location: Great for getting into York, drive to the Park and Ride. easy to get to Thirsk and other local attractions, several National Trust properties near
We have stayed here about five times before, four under different ownerships. Best Western have modernised and decorated. The gardens are lovely and there is a pleasant seating area outside where you can have a drink and even a bar meal. The only complaint we have is that the bar could have been better stocked. Will definitely go back again. The breakfasts are good and the evening meal we had was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Hotel near York

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Check-in was fast. The grounds were relaxing. The room was quiet. The staff were nice.
Cons: I was very disappointed that the Hall had lost any resemblance of a stately residence. Why convert an historical home into just another bland hotel?
Location: Nice grounds to stroll around.
I expected the inside to have some resemblance of a manor home. It didn't - it was no different than any old modernized hotel. When we checked-out in the morning I was told there was no record that the rooms were prepaid through Expedia and had to pay for the rooms (I trust Expedia so was not worried about paying twice). The staff were all quite nice and professional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beds!

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
nice place but beds where uncomfortable
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Great base for an overnight stay near York

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Burn Hall Hotel was our base for the night after watching the brilliant Tom Chaplin at The York Barbican. Fantastic value for money, very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend if staying in the York area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Best western hotel Burn hall York

Posted May 11, 2017
Great hotel set in a nice rural area gardens with parking out door seating area bar and restaurant good quality food room very comfortable breakfast optional with wifi À little far out of York City and no public transport nearby but i would use this hotel again