Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Close to the baseball stadium

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Room was clean but bed size was wrong. The staff told me once I went into my room and called they didn't have the king bed I asked for because it wasn't indicated on my Expedia booking. I said I am looking at the reservation and it is showing it. She said they were booked to capacity and didn't have that room to offer me. I was fine either way-i just didn't want to short someone who needed a room with 2 beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Meg, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay in regards to available bed size. We do hope to welcome you back if you are in the area again. Have a safe summer. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

renovated, but poor condition. staff was nice tho

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel recently renovated, but would never stay again. So many things wrong. Gave up after 4th visit to front desk WHEN WE ARRIVED: -door to our room was ajar and open! -Shower was leaking a continuous stream of water when we arrived on the first day. Turned the handle to shut it off. Housekeeping couldn't do that? -light bulb was out. Later, an 70 year old man dressed in a casual shirt (not a uniform) and slippers showed up to replace it. HOTEL CONDITION: -Didn't turn on the AC at night. Emitted loud creaking door sound that lasted for 9 seconds every time the AC reached its temperature. -Bathroom door impossible to open normally. To open, strike the top corner of door, or press down hard on the knob. -Mounting holes were there, but deadbolt was missing. -Entire 2nd and 3rd floors and our room smelled either of new construction chemicals or curry. -Empty box of condoms on the 2nd floor stairwell landing -mattress lumpy -shower tub drained slowly. Stopper was rolling around the tub -in the sink, the round disk of the stopper not attached to the rest of the stopper plug -3 times in 2 days, the key cards failed. Went through magnetic 5 key cards to get 2 working key cards. They just re-use the failed ones instead of throwing them away. -not hotels fault, but a couple next door was having loud s_x. Not cool with my family there. -by design, windows did not open. inexplicable on a 3 story building that smells bad
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn
5 out of 5
by Michael

Nice Stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay at your establishment made possible by the wonderful staff.Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manger Best Western Westgate Inn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was my first time staying here. The hotel was very nice for the price. Book early to get a better price though. Close to good food and very comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn
4 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking your time to rate our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we can earn that 5th star when we see you again. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and affordable hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We always stay here when we come to York to visit our son. I like the beds and the price is right. We don't spend a lot of time in motels so we don't look for extra amenities like pool, spa, etc. If you're looking for an affordable price with fridge, microwave, and iron in every room and free breakfast, this hotel is fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Angel C, Hotel Management
We are deeply elated that we have been your constant hotel of choice when you're in York, PA. As always, don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staff are always ready to help you with anything. Thank you and take care.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Business In York, PA

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
If you need to travel to York, PA on business the Best Western Westgate Inn is a solid choice for a place to stay. It offers clean, comfortable rooms at a low price and is conveniently located. With free parking and a free breakfast it offered everything I needed for my trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn
4 out of 5
by MIchael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
1st floor room didn't have drapes that closed. Anyone outside could see right through the sheets into the room!! Comfy bed. Breakfast variety was good but hot items weren't the best! Might stay again but not for price I paid!
4 out of 5
by JoAnne

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Megha, Hotel Management
Dear JoAnne, Thank you for taking the time to leave a rating for our hotel. We hope to see you again and provide you with the kind of service you expect for a 5 star rating, which is what we strive for. Sincerely, Meg Shah General Manager Best Western Westgate Inn