Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crewe Cheshire

Lovely guest house

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Booked in for 2 night stay lovely guest house very homely, the breakfasts were fantastic everything catered for. Room was exceptionally clean and adequate size I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in York was only a ten min walk into the city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice B&B close to the city centre

Posted Jul 13, 2017
A thoroughly nice base when visiting York. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by John

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved York. Just a short walk into town. Bowen House was a great place to stay, the food and service was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely BnB close to town

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Its perfect location not far from town, but quiet.
We were in York for the weekend and Bowen House was a perfect place for us. Just a ten minute walk from the town centre and easy to get to by car, with parking on site, it allowed us to explore both York and the surrounding countryside with ease. The room was well-equipped and bigger than appears in the photos. I would visit again!
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable room on the top floor. Just a little tight for head room if you are tall. Dianne cooked a lovely breakfast and the porridge was yummy. Dianne also gave us recommendations about where to eat in the evening and what to see. The neighbourhood is quiet and a short walk into the city centre. Off Street parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice bed and breakfast with gracious owners

Posted Mar 29, 2017
This bed and breakfast is a pleasant place to stay in York. The home is modest but very comfortable. The room was clean and decent sized and the bed was comfortable. The hosts/owners were friendly and gracious. The breakfast was tasty and fresh. It is about a 10 minute walk into town, providing a little distance the crowds and noise but still very easy to get into. I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milnrow

Lovely, friendly hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Locatlity, friendliness, just about everything really.
Cons: There was nothing at the hotel that I felt could be improved on.
Location: Great location for getting into the centre. 10 minutes stroll away. Didn't have to use the car once after we parked up.
Very cosy room, 10 minute walk to centre. Great hosts, the breakfast was delicious, sets you up for the day. Enjoyed our weekend break. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north east

Dashing visit - sadly little more than a place to

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Arrived late and away before breakfast. Landlady very welcoming and pleasant. Room very clean and well appointed- a little dated but very homely. Definitely would revisit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was very nice lovely place very clean and breakfast was brilliant .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and close to town centre

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, comfortable bed, en suite. Hospitality tray. Bathroom toiletries.
Cons: Quality of ingredients on cooked breakfast a bit disappointing. Sauces took from table as soon as used. Not being made aware room in roof.
Location: Very close to city centre and easy walking distance to everything.
Nice stay in pleasant B and B. Quality of cooked breakfast ingredients a bit disappointing. Had room in roof with small dormer window which weren't made aware of on booking. Extra touches In room lovely. Would recommend but not in top bedroom.