Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Perfect location by the Miinster. Had the Edwards room. Very steep staircase to access the bathroom- would not suit anyone with mobility issues-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

YES!

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Orbitz
This place is worth a visit even if only for drinks in a nice gallery or library.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, gorgeous hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, lovely staff cannot fault anything at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Excellent location, very comfortable and elegant.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, warm room.
Cons: No mirror near a plug to style hair with straighteners of hairdryer.
Location: Great location, 2 mins from centre.
Had a lovely stay whilst we were at the Minster for our sons graduation, one minute walk. Beautiful Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, historical building with wonderful staff

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient car park, particularly personal welcome, very interesting building to explore with a well stocked bar and great service. Staff were very attentive all afternoon in the public rooms. Dinner and breakfast were very good. All in all a very relaxing and romantic place to spend time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE England

Old fashioned style

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: In the middle of a world heritage site dating back to roman times, with Viking and medieval sites aplenty. Do the wall circuit if your legs allow.
Everything from checkin to checkout was handled smoothly in a professional manner. The public rooms were comfortable in a grand style as befits an ancient building. Our bedroom was well decorated, smart and comfortable. Our food experience was restricted to the wonderful complementary scones and shortcake on arrival and a similarly competent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

One night with a five year old

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Very welcoming, small, and splendid rooms, gallery and garden in a great location (very near the Minster). The was a last minute trip for half term to give my wife a break from the both of us. Had seen this hotel in a documentary some years ago and when it came up I decided to take my five year old to some museums (Yorvick, National Railway Museum). Made very welcome. Free scones and drinks on arrival (and additional crisps for X). The Gallery and lounge reception (with a wood burning stove) very cosy. Staff fussed over my child which he loved. Breakfast very high standard and breakfast room has a great view.
Cons: Room a little cold but soon warmed up once I got the shower going. Not really much else I can think to say here but the text box demands more text characters.
Location: Centre of York so very good if you have a five year old reluctant to walk
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for exploring

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great time here, breakfast was fantastic and the hotel is generally very good, friendly staff that were a great help when required. Booked through a third party so was a little shocked about having to pay for parking as it wasn't mentioned beforehand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Lovely rooms, location and gardens. Perfect for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Janine

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Had a wonderful stay at Gray's Court. The gardens are beautiful and the bar/lounge was so nice. We were greeted with prosecco and scones when we arrived! The hotel is right off of the medieval wall which you can walk along to York Minster. Our room was very nice and beautifully decorated. Gray's Court is a special place to stay! Wish we had more than one night's stay! Also, breakfast was delicious!