Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend

Easy access to City

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Pleasing room, easy location.
Cons: Breakfast room far too small when hotel is busy - Saturday was excellent. friendly chef looking after everyone and service great. Sunday more chaotic!
Location: Close to all City amenities, although a fair distance to the MInster. Shops and Shambles well worth a visit. Great for the station!
Great location for City and Railway. Staff very friendly and accommodating - room very clean, but in need of TLC as looks dated.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

2 Night Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Great value for money
Cons: Check in
Location: Short walk in to town with everything close by
Stayed here in 2009 so thought we would give it another go as it was fine last time. Room was nice, warm with everything you need. Great choice at breakfast, would stay there again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury

Nice hotel close to railway station

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: It was within walking distance of railway station
Cons: Hotel showed signs of age but I did not think that mattered
Location: I used Hotel as base for railway trip which suited perfectly although I did briefly visit the nearby railway museum.
Hotel was clean ,warm, and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly Hotel was good value for money - what more could anyone want.
5 out of 5
by james

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Delightful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast from the Italian chef in an equally delightful and quirky hotel close to the town centre. Very pleased to have found it.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Lovely hotel close to the city centre

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Hotel location handy for buses and friendly staff
Cons: Comfier mattresses mine was a bit hard
Location: Sightseeing and shopping
Had a great week visiting family and friends and doing some shopping
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Nice find

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Found it a bit strange only having 1 key that fit front door, inner door & our room door. Comfortable & quiet room. Shower wasn't very powerful. Couldn't fault the breakfast, lovely sausages!!
4 out of 5
by Kerrie

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Guest house was good , room was very small though other than that was clean and tidy
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio USA

Nice hotel within easy walk of city center

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, parking on site, large, clean rooms. Good breakfast.
Cons: Hotel was nice.
Location: Easy walk to the city. You can either walk along the top of the wall to the church or you can walk through the shambles and explore the city,
Nice hotel. Within easy walk of city center. Lots of restaurants, etc, on walk to city or within city walls. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking a bit tight, but adequate behind building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great city , handy location .

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice overnight stay to complete our Christmas shopping at lots of local and unusual shops that York has to offer compared to many other towns and cities that are only large chain stores , charity and pound shops , York has retained its character that is why we travel from North Wales every year at Christmas time .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Holgate Bridge Hotel was good value for money. It's a bit of a walk from the town centre but not too far. The breakfast was excellent