Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city, restaurants shops etc.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Clean and modern. Central position.
Cons: Had to ask for extra bath towels and coffee pods. Room extras should be replaced daily.
Location: Easy to walk to shops and restaurants.
Nice clean modern hotel. Very nice breakfast, waiting staff very efficient. Quite inpersonal, which I quite like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Jade, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad that you found the location convenient and the room clean. I have made a not of your comment regarding the amenities not being replenished which I will raise with our housekeeping team. We hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 again. Kind regards Jade Walker Senior Receptionist
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middlesbrough

Ideal location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Was disappointed with my stay over all . There used to be parking facilities opposite the hotel In connection with hotel for £10 for 24 hours which is reasonable . This is no longer available and have to find alternative arrangement the one reccomended by hotel was full . Then the room we were given was a lot smaller than the one we had last time we stayed at this hotel. The bed sheets were not clean there was stains/marks on bottom sheet . Then in the bathroom there was thick black hair in shower so obviously not been cleaned to a very good standard . Breakfast was not very nice either the mushrooms tasted rubbery. The bacon tasted like it had been out a while dry/chewy . Scrambled egg was not very nice either .. no complaints about sausage and beans they were ok . Me and my partner stayed in same hotel last year and it was fantastic this time we are extremely disappointed .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Very hot!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Stayed here with my friend for a girls break, check in was quick and efficient although restaurant opening times were not mentioned. When we arrived at our room we were greeted by a wall of heat.. We thought this issue would be resolved by turning the radiator off however that only lessened the issue! On the bright side we had summer in our room and the starting of winter outdoors. The room itself was spacious and well maintained and even came with a pod coffee machine much to our delight. Any contact that was had with staff was pleasant and professional. On the whole although the heating made it slightly uncomfortable aswell as the lack of air conditioning it was a wonderful stay and would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Hi Jennifer, thank your for your recent review. I'm pleased your enjoyed your room and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York, kind regards Laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the centre

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The beds were a little uncomfortable but the room was very clean and modern Very handy for the centre only around a 5 minute walk
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review and lovely star rating of your stay at hotel53. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to York. kind regards Laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Great location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Great location hotel staff pleasant no complaints what so ever would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Hi Alison, thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back. kind regards, Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Otley West Yorkshire

Christmas shopping in York

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Chose Hotel 53 as stayed there before. Comfortable and clean room. No complaints!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of Hotel53. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to York, kind regards Laura
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location, noisy, limited parking

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great location for the city Walls are thin and noise travels: we had a party group staying opposite who managed to us up at 4am. :-/ The hotel does have very limited (= like 10) parking for an extra charge, but as some spaces are small depending when you get there (first come first serve) you can get caught out. Far from perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hotel53. we do have a night manager available throughout the night should you find your neighbours too noisy, our night manager also does hourly floor walks. Our car park is off site and is limited, as advertised. Our reception team recommend near by car parks with ample spaces for our guests at reduced rates. Thank you for your comments regarding our location and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Looks nice a the front, but disappointed with toom

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Hotel 53 looks very stylish from the front, very modern. But unfortunately our room fell a bit short. We appeared to have been put in the room that was equipped for disabled guests. The room was clean and spacious but looked very bare, and the bathroom looked more like a hospital bathroom. The room door wouldn’t deadlock. We did get the room for a good price but wish I’d paid a bit more and gone to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of hotel53. Our accessible rooms are slightly larger than our other rooms, our reception would of been happy to reallocate your room, subject to availability upon request. I'm sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A stylish hotel with small rooms

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The hotel is modern and well located. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Car park was nearby and hotel guests pay a discounted fare (7.50/24h). Room was stylish but pretty small: once the sofa bed was opened we could hardly walk in the room. No cupboard nor safe. I was expecting more for the price paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Hi GP, thank you for your lovely star rating of your stay at hotel53. We do have photos on the website of the sofa bed set up so guests are aware of what to expect and is not misleading. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to York. kind regards Laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rugby

Central and convenient

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel was just what I was looking for- within walking distance of the attractions I wanted to visit and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Hi E, thank you for your wonderful four star rating and comments of your stay at hotel53. Thank you for your comments regarding our location to local attractions. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to York. kind regards Laura