Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hadleigh, Suffolk

An Excellent Place To Stay

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: I found the staff were very polite and helpful. The food served at this hotel was unbelievably good.
Cons: The WI-fi didn't have enough range to reach our room so we did our web browsing in the bar area if required.
Location: Many things to see, National Railway Museum, York Minster, walk the city wall, explore the castle, walk down the Shambles.
Situated: The Hotel is situated next to a city bus route although we always walked the 10 minutes into the city center. Hotel Staff: Whether on reception, in the bar or restaurant, all staff were polite and always happy to help. I can't rate the kitchen staff high enough, all meals were out of this world. Hotel facilities and condition: We had the compact room so we didn't expect much but we had all that we needed. Although someone had liberated the power lead from the alarm clock, we chose not to complain as we were quite happy to use our mobile phone alarms. I'm sure if we did tell reception, it would have been sorted within minutes. The toilet/shower room was as the room suggested; compact, the wash basin was positioned a little too closed to the toilet pan so became rather a comedy act to use but we managed. We had had a Tassimo machine with enough pods for the night and more of what we liked were topped up the following day. Room Cleanliness: We found the room to spotless in all the main areas. Beds were made with fresh linen while we were out and towels were only changed if we indicated that they needed changing. Room Comfort: The bed was softer than I'm use to but I did manage to get off to sleep quite easily. TV was in a good position to view whilst laying on the bed. The shower was brilliant; it had a very powerful spray whilst still producing a hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Nice hotel, short walk into york city centre!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
A great hotel not too far from city centre, we took a nice 15 minute walk along the river. Free minibar is a nice touch, despite the beer being becks (bottled farts). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely too. Would highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Sammy , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback greatly appreciated! glad you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Noir, we hope to see you back at hotel Noir in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Noir within walking distance of city centre.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Probably difficult to improve very much as it was the quality of some of the guests that was the main issue.
Location: York is a great city with much to see. However, Saturday night in York is not the time to visit.
Hotel itself was modern and staff were OK. However, car parking was a nightmare and there was so much noise overnight from one group of guests that sleep was virtually impossible. Also, only toilets available downstairs were 2 cubicles in a unisex room!! Considering that the hotel was not on the cheap side, we were disappointed by our stay. If this hotel had been part of the Premier Inn range we would have asked for our money back!
4 out of 5
by Christoph

Charming Hotel

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very nice and well located hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room perfect for a weekend stay in York. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BIRMINGHAM

Good value hotel near to Minster

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, price, large room, comfortable bed, good food
Cons: The partition wall against the next room was not soundproofed adequately The bathroom floor was dangerous there are tiled steps across the shower door
Location: Excellent location 15 minutes walk from the Minster
We enjoyed a comfortable 2 nights at the Hotel Noir, other than issues with sound insulation and a slip hazzard in the shower there were no problems. Pleaseant helpful staff, good food at both breakfast and evening
4 out of 5
by jim

York weekend

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel great value
5 out of 5
by JUDITH

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was brillaint
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleased with the hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean and the hotel was well decorated with new double glazed windows as well. The staff were friendly & helpfull. The shower worked well. We were very pleased with our stay.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Great Location but.......

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Poor quality small room initially but changed after we complained without fuss. Overcharged in restaurant - check your bill! Great location and very clean. 1st room very small with wardrobe that didn't have a door and housed the kettle.