Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Amazing location... once you find it....

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We started our day in Edinburgh, Scotland and drove down to Durham then to the Inn at Hawnby for the night. First our GPS was unable to locate the Inn so we used Google maps which I'm sure took us a very round about way to get there. Coming from the South it looks like the Inn would have been much easier to find but from the North and as someone not too experienced with driving in the UK it was a confusing, not fun drive - at one point we were on a road that barely had room for one car - but was expected to fit two going in opposite directions. Also phone signals came and went so this added to the stress. However once we (finally) reached our destination the location was absolutely amazing. SO quiet and calm - our phones were at that point not working at all but I was expecting this based on the other reviews I had read. The main house had free wifi. The room was very cute, off the main "house" - however there was a bit of a hill that would have been difficult to bring our luggage down - since we were only staying one night, we packed a small bag to solve that problem. Also there were a handful of stairs from our room to the bathroom which were a challenge at night. The bathroom itself was clean, but it seems there had been water damage at some point, as the floor had a disturbing soft spot in front of the sink. Breakfast was nice, and the views from the dining room were amazing. The staff however was a bit rude and sarcastic which was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Jules

The Inn at Hawnby

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and an excellent chef!
5 out of 5
by Jon

Customers treated like friends

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Some of the best staff I've had the good fortune to meet, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The Inn is small but in a fantastic location with great views and good walking, and less than an hour from York. We had top quality food in the restaurant, locally sourced, and supported by good ales and some well chosen wines. Will be very happy to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Country Inn

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: As I said in my earlier comment it is difficult as we were located in the annex, I can not comment about the rest of the hotel. The dining room, good
Location: We booked specifically to go to Castle Howard which was 20 miles away. No wifi or broadband and no mobile signal, felt a bit isolated.
Sadly we were located in the annex. The room was dark and a little drab, needed some TLC. It was clean and the bedding and towels were in excellent condition and well laundered. We only ate in on our first night. The food was good, nicely cooked and served. The staff were attentive and very helpful. Those wanting to keep connected will find it difficult. No wifi or mobile signal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Food

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Lovely Place in the countryside. The restaurant is a must eat, great dining experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yorkshire at it's best - peaceful, great Inn

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Superb location, easy to find (and that's with a diversion due to local road closed), a great welcome and so quick. Stayed in cottages which were quaint and very old - quirky but great so don't moan if not there are creaks and squeaks - this is out in the Yorkshire countryside! There are no mobile signals and wifi only available in the Inn not in cottages - but hey, it's good to be totally cut off for a few hours. Food was superb and good choice. Very friendly and great views/walks. Already planning to go back if we can get in!
5 out of 5
by David from Leeds

Great stay.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay. Lovely rural location. I was not expecting the quality of the food, so that was a fantastic bonus. A particular highlight was the service, which was spot on.
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Marcus from Macclesfield

Lovely quiet pub.

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
It's when something goes wrong that you really get to know how good a hotel is. We were called at about 11:00am to let us know that the boiler had broken down and they were trying to fix it. What followed was then a classic example of how to manage a problem. We were kept informed of progress and given plenty of alternatives. Our stay was lovely, helped by the many complimentary drinks. Good food and very friendly, helpful staff. We will go back when it's a bit warmer.