Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Beautiful house close to York

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Everything! Frederick and Joan are wonderful hosts.
Cons: I cannot think of anything that needs changing.
Location: Visits to York, Whitby, lots of historical sites all around linked to Richard III; Birds of prey centre; Flamingo land; Castle Howard; NYMR etc...
As a solo traveller my experience here was first class. The house is beautiful, set back from the main road and peaceful. Frederick and Joan are superb hosts, making me feel very welcome in their home, and giving me time to talk about my sightseeing experiences. The room I had was very clean, very comfortable providing a relaxing haven after a full days sightseeing, with a superbly luxurious bathroom. Frederick is very knowledgeable and able to offer good advice about the locality and places to visit, giving local routes to avoid congested main roads. There is a lovely walk along to the River Derwent with fishing rights, and plenty of 'wildlife' for nature lovers. The resident chickens provide lovely eggs for breakfast. The breakfast that Joan provides is wonderful, and really sets you up for the day. There is a great choice of fruits/cereals and the 'full english' is probably one of the best I have had from any of the hotels/bed and breakfast establishments in which I have stayed. The no children (under 12) policy also suited me very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our weekend stay in the York area was made even more enjoyable by Frederick and June's hospitality - location and facilities were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great relaxing place to stay near York

Posted May 27, 2017
A wonderful welcome awaits at this definitely five star b & b. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, cosy and furnished to a high standard. We stayed in the pink room where a small decanter of sherry and Yorkshire fruit cake awaited us on arrival, what a lovely touch. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room along with biscuits. The pink room has a shower room and a standard size bed. The green room is a bigger room with a huge bathroom and a roll top bath. We enjoyed an outstanding English breakfast with eggs from the chickens in the garden. The antique style dining room with large communal table overlooking the large garden made breakfast special. On checking out we had the opportunity to buy some Kexby House rainbow eggs laid by their own hens. The location of the property is excellent as it combines a stay in the country whilst being ten minutes drive from the York Grimston Bar park and ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was goog and the welcome was really nice

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Nice and clean friendly people breakfast was nice good staff Wood go back
Location: Tacks days at air fields and air museum
It was good nice and clean great place time away enjoy it nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay in a brilliant B&B in York

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay. Frederick & Joan were marvelous, friendly, hard working hosts. They were extremely welcoming and full of information of what to do and where to go. We had lovely breakfasts in their beautiful dining room. We stayed in the Cottage in the hotel grounds, and it was wonderful. It was spacious, clean and sumptuously decorated with lovely comfy furnishings. It had every facility you might need, and they had thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Although too cold at this time of the year to have enjoyed the use of it, the Cottage also had a lovely garden and gorgeous little patio area with a table and chairs so you could sit out and enjoy a glass of wine and a relax, whilst taking in the lovely scenery it has. It was close York town centre, where we took in all the sights. We had a truly wonderful stay, and would, without doubt return and also recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay whilst in York. Thank you Frederick and Joan. Sue & Paul Doyle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent old style BnB

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Superb oldy world bed n breakfast with a gorgeous breakfast room. The owners were brilliant and helpful. Just off a busy road but set back enough so you don't hear the traffic. Lovely fresh eggs - ask about the chickens !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northumberland

Kexby house the place to stay.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at kexby house.great hosts superb breakfasts immaculate throughout. Easy access to york ,really good value .strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

DIVINE GEM

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Everything, great breakfast, great room, lovely setting, and wonderful hosts. I highly recommend it and will definitely be back to visit again.
Cons: Absolutely nothing, its fantastic
Location: Great location close to york, visited the york minster, lots of shops and restaurants lovely city.
This mini stately home has everything, even the convenient location on the outskirts of york. I partcularly liked the masses of free parking. What an idyllic quiet woodland setting with their chickens and doves that is only 3 miles from York's outer ring road and park and ride. I would certainly recommend it and will be returning for the Christmas fair to do my Christmas shopping!!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Lovely

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Clean and location and friendliness. Lovely bed-and-breakfast .
Cons: There is nothing to dislike about the bed-and-breakfast
Location: Very close to York city and a lovely city it is