Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peak District

Convenient location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location, well maintained, no downsides for my short stay.
Location: Easy taxi ride I to york, close to ring road.
Welcoming staff, very efficient.. the room was really spacious and was very neat and clean. Good tv, no negatives at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chester

Relaxing break

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Relaxing break, friendly staff & breakfast was faultless
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and souless

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds
Cons: Updating, staff and atmosphere
Location: Just out of the City but ok with a car
We've stayed here quite a few times over the years whilst visiting family. Unfortunately, the experience just gets worse with each visit. The hotel rooms look tired and dated and the bathrooms urgently need updating. Our room this time had an old musty smell to it as did the wardrobes and I felt reluctant to hang my clothes in it. The beds and pillows however were extremely comfortable although I found the linen to be good quality, they were very over starched and caused a skin irritation. Breakfast was poor. No glasses out for the fresh juice although staff were standing around chatting about child care problems. No eggs, so we had a wait whilst some were prepared. We could hear an argument in kitchen between staff. A tour group had been in just before us and had left the staff flustered and moaning about the experience. This hotel could be so lovely with some updating and the staff issues addressed. A warm greeting on arrival would have been nice rather than leaving us feeling we were an inconvenience. The whole place lacks atmosphere and the staff could helps with this by being more helpful and welcoming - we felt at times like we were in a library. It could easily be something special and I hope it soon will be. For sure our next visit to York will be to another hotel of which there are many.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Very nice stopover

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Good-sized rooms, decent TV and a good breakfast.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Ideal for stopovers or as a base for exploring York and its environs.
I stayed at the Fairfield Manor whilst on a business trip earlier this week. The location is ideal for a business stopover, located close to a number of main artery routes. Check-in was smooth and although I was the last person to arrive that evening I still found myself in a good-sized room with comfortable chairs, a decent bed and a very good TV. Perfect for a quick overnight refresh. Breakfast was a standard Mercure breakfast which is better than a lot of other three star hotels in my opinion. I'd have no hesitation in booking this hotel again if I'm in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Interesting hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Check in done pleasantly and swiftly. It was a real hike to the room, though, upstairs with no lift. However, the room was worth the trip, being large and well furnished. After two nights in hotels with a shower, it was lovely to be able to have a bath instead! We had had a very busy day and were meeting friends for dinner, so elected to eat at the hotel. The food was acceptable but not very exciting. The service was good, especially as the staff were also having to cope with a coach party dining there. Breakfast was excellent - good choice of hot and cold items. Helpful to be able to draw up to the front door to load up the car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Pleasant hotel within easy reach of York centre.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Spacious & clean bedroom/lounge.
Cons: Breakfast food presentation & staff efficiency.
Location: Near to Park & Ride to York city centre & Benningbrough Hall.
Bedroom/lounge was spacious & clean as were grounds of the hotel but there was no lift to the room. Self-service breakfast experience was disappointing - food presentation & staff efficiency was below average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Cons: Bedside lights.
Location: Very well placed for the City (park & ride) just up the road. Whitby & Robin Hood's Bay are about an hours drive away across the stunning moors.
We had 'done" York before so this time we visited Whitby, Robin Hoods' Bay via the stunning moors. Also 3 NT sites locally including Fountains Abbey. Harrogate was also on our wish list - so had a great 3 days - ideally situated for all of the above.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Okay hotel, on the pricey side. We used it as a stop before seeing York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to York

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: nice hotel,nice room and reasonable priced.
Location: good for visiting York,only a short drive in to the city.
Enjoyable stay at the Mercure hotel York,would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Nice hotel close to park and ride

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Had a lovely 2 night stay receptionist very helpful polite and professional, room lovely large comfy bed, breakfast had everything that you could want for breakfast only downside was flies in the dining room very off putting.