Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Beautiful hotel rooms are gorgeous close to the centre of York would definitely go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Affordable and cool hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2017
A perfect place to stay for a short trip. Parking is complicated but real.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Well priced hotel in centre of York with clean rooms and modern bathrooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Nice hotel close to shops and railway station

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Location, character, clean and comfortable, efficient and friendly staff, good cooking.
Cons: Put the button to raise the bar at the car park entrance next to drivers' windows.
Location: The location is in the city centre, within walking distance of the shops and about five minutes drive from the railway station.
I stayed overnight on a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Dinner was well up to expectation. The only minus point was that the car park is a little awkward to get into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Close to city centre.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: It had an interesting history and the restaurant was very good.
Cons: We were not sure which entry was the main one for the purpose of arranging a taxi.
Location: A highlight was a visit to the Jorvik Viking centre. The old York city centre was great with small cobbled streets, markets and roman remains.
It was fairly close to the train station and we were able to walk into the town centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nancy

Fantastic customer service, lovely rooms

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Middletons was fantastic. When we arrived there had been an issue with our booking and so we were given a room with three single beds and as we are a couple this was not ideal. This issue was on the booking website and not fault of Middletons. The hotel was fully booked, but then they managed to give us one of the cottages which are usually for families. This was superb. They also gave us a complimentary cocktails in the lounge. This was above and beyond great customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Trip

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
This is advertised as a luxury hotel but we felt that it was decidedly ordinary. We had booked a de-luxe room but the room was no better than standard rooms I have stayed at in other hotels. Room servicing was average with cumbs being left and we had to ask at reception for the toilet rolls to be replaced. Reception staff were pleasant but we did not feel particularly welcomed. Overall we did not feel that this merits the luxury hotel status and would probably not stay again.
5 out of 5
by Brandon

Great place to stay in York!

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
This place is wonderful. The staff is great, the accommodations are excellent, and it's in a wonderful area, in walking distance to all the best York has to offer