Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice quiet hotel in gorgeous setting

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The quiet - no noise came off road at all.
Cons: Put up lace curtains so guests can feel private in their rooms, particularly on the ground floor.
Location: All tourist attractions are within 30 minute walk of the hotel. Closest entry point onto the city wall is only about 5-10 minutes away.
First thing that stood out to me in my room at Middletons? Electrical outlets - lots of them! Wahoo! Having previously come from a hotel with hardly any, and certainly none that allowed me to plug in and use my laptop at the same time, I was over the moon to see how well fitted out this room was for using and charging devices. My room was a smallish one but had a beautiful ensuite (shower only). To control heat in the room there was a radiator that was simple to use and fast to heat the room up. Also provided in the room was an iron, ironing board, robe. The only negatives that put me off a little bit were firstly that although my room was on the ground floor and right next to a path, there was no kind of privacy offered in the way of net curtains etc. I know that perhaps the owners might do this as net curtains don't look pretty but I felt really exposed with the bed very close to the window. Unfortunately I hated that so much that when I was in the room - even during daylight hours - I had to keep the entire curtains pulled. It was just way too revealing! It wouldn't have been so bad being on the top floor, I am guessing, but having a path, tables and chairs right there, just outside my window (like only a couple of metres from my bed) ... oh, no, that didn't make me very comfortable at all. It was a pity as the view was nice from my room. Also meant that I ended up using more electricity to turn on lights, which I didn't much like either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great hotel. Nice and comfortable rooms and just 10 min walk to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: situation
Cons: renovation needs
Location: top
i rent 2 rooms for family , one renovated the other one ...nop ...the new one was ok the old one ...old ...a little expansive for such ...the hotel is very well situated and the city absolutely charming...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The staff were very nice and helpful, BUT coming back after a long day to find our bed had been tidied ( smoothed over) but the sheet was still untucked and crumbled as we left it, was sloppy! We arrived back at 21.45 and my husband requested a beer, only to find the pumps were being cleaned and non was available, unless he wanted the beer pulled prior to cleaning the pipes, surely this is thoughtless when customers may want to have beer, during licencing hours Also for 2 adults to be given 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel does seem a little thoughtless... We decided it was best to just sleep and leave, and not even bother with breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Excellent hotel in York with a wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
A beautiful hotel within a short distance of the main city and the train station. The front desk staff and restaurant/bar staff were exceedingly friendly, helpful, and professional. The triple room was comfortable. The breakfast was very good - many offerings on the buffet and the option to special order. The dinner was fantastic. Would highly recommend the Middletons Hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by David

Excellent stay a few minutes from downtown.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Service was helpful and overall was outstanding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
A little off the beaten track which was good. An easy walk into the activity of York. The reception staff were mostly good, cheery and helpful. The room was clean with the exception of the Q tip under the desk. Nice beds, linens, and the bathroom was clean and modern. Avoid the restaurant for anything but a drink. Food was mediocre at best, service not so good. The maitre'd/manager/whatever was sloppily dressed and at times was more interested in his phone or chatting with the younger server than guests. We waited while he spoke with other guests about his education and all the courses he had taken for bartending. Didn't make him much of a waiter. Good gym room, but the "resistance" pool is has inadequate jets and the room was like a sauna due to the glass ceiling and poor ventilation. Should your room be facing the street as was ours it is not a problem as long as you don't plan on sleeping late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Our home in York

Posted May 27, 2017
A wonderful place to stay in York. It was central to everything we wanted to see. We really enjoyed the gardens
5 out of 5
by Peter

Best Spot in York

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, great facilities, great on-site dining.
3 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels