Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Nice hotel close to shops and railway station

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Location, character, clean and comfortable, efficient and friendly staff, good cooking.
Cons: Put the button to raise the bar at the car park entrance next to drivers' windows.
Location: The location is in the city centre, within walking distance of the shops and about five minutes drive from the railway station.
I stayed overnight on a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Dinner was well up to expectation. The only minus point was that the car park is a little awkward to get into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Close to city centre.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: It had an interesting history and the restaurant was very good.
Cons: We were not sure which entry was the main one for the purpose of arranging a taxi.
Location: A highlight was a visit to the Jorvik Viking centre. The old York city centre was great with small cobbled streets, markets and roman remains.
It was fairly close to the train station and we were able to walk into the town centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice quiet hotel in gorgeous setting

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The quiet - no noise came off road at all.
Cons: Put up lace curtains so guests can feel private in their rooms, particularly on the ground floor.
Location: All tourist attractions are within 30 minute walk of the hotel. Closest entry point onto the city wall is only about 5-10 minutes away.
First thing that stood out to me in my room at Middletons? Electrical outlets - lots of them! Wahoo! Having previously come from a hotel with hardly any, and certainly none that allowed me to plug in and use my laptop at the same time, I was over the moon to see how well fitted out this room was for using and charging devices. My room was a smallish one but had a beautiful ensuite (shower only). To control heat in the room there was a radiator that was simple to use and fast to heat the room up. Also provided in the room was an iron, ironing board, robe. The only negatives that put me off a little bit were firstly that although my room was on the ground floor and right next to a path, there was no kind of privacy offered in the way of net curtains etc. I know that perhaps the owners might do this as net curtains don't look pretty but I felt really exposed with the bed very close to the window. Unfortunately I hated that so much that when I was in the room - even during daylight hours - I had to keep the entire curtains pulled. It was just way too revealing! It wouldn't have been so bad being on the top floor, I am guessing, but having a path, tables and chairs right there, just outside my window (like only a couple of metres from my bed) ... oh, no, that didn't make me very comfortable at all. It was a pity as the view was nice from my room. Also meant that I ended up using more electricity to turn on lights, which I didn't much like either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great hotel. Nice and comfortable rooms and just 10 min walk to the train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but small room with odd smell.

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Not worth the money. Our room (30) had a peculiar odour of stale urine. This was flagged up to reception the following morning & certainly when we returned it was fresher smelling however it appeared to have been masked with air freshener as the smell returned. Think carpet shampooing may assist. Also the bathroom is designed for hobbits. My partner is 6'3" & couldn't stand upright in the shower or at the toilet. They had mentioned about moving us to a different room but it wasn't followed up & since we were only there 2 nights we tolerated it. Quite good location & within walking distance of most of York's main attractions. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold choices but maybe at bit on the expensive side.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel nice staff bit surprised I had to pay £10 to park my car in hotel car park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: situation
Cons: renovation needs
Location: top
i rent 2 rooms for family , one renovated the other one ...nop ...the new one was ok the old one ...old ...a little expansive for such ...the hotel is very well situated and the city absolutely charming...
3 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel room was big but dated and very stuffy. It was also noisy from the gym opposite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, just a short walk to city centre

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
We love the location of this hotel and have stayed there several times, although this time we had problems with the TV in our room which the staff were unable to fix. Also, they've now started charging guests to park the car in their own car park! Not impressed.
5 out of 5
by Laura

graduation night!

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great to have a room for 3 of us. the area was lovely and near to town but quieter. the gardens were attractive and the breakfast was very nice. we enjoyed sitting outside one night .