Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to center

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Cons: access to wifi
everything was perfect except the access to wifi... we had to go in the corridor and when you travel from abroad, stay in contact is very important....other than that,we had a great time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice Guest House easy walking to city centre

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Location: Easy walk into York City centre. Loads to do and see in York.
Friendly people, clean room, nice and quiet, and good breakfast. All I needed for the weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the city crbtre

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Parking was awful. The side parking on premises is not workable & the pub car park opposite was unacceptable. Property was older & room was very small. Shower was next door & the overal impression was not the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Lovely Guest House

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Monkgate Guest House. It is really close to the heart of York. There are Parking facilities. The owners are really friendly. Breakfast is really nice and there is also a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, and faciliteis

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Stayed here for a long weekend. Excellent location - less than 5 minutes to Monkgate. Lovely hosts. Room was good value for money. Good Breakfasts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from york Uk

Easy reach of York shops and night life

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was truly excellent
Cons: N suite facilities still use shower curtain and floor gets soaked, although good shower itself lots of hot wTer
Location: About 10 minute walk to shops and city of York so I. That respect good.
The hotel was on a busy ring road out of the city, so a bit noisy. Steep stairs not easy for disabled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Walking Distance to City Center

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The owners could not have been nicer. Very helpful with information about the city. Easy access to the property.
Location: Close to City Center. We initially planned one full day in town but extended it to the next half day. A lot to see and do.
The B & B was easy walking distance to City Center. As in most historic homes, space was tight but we were able to manage. Parking is always a challenge but we were allowed to park across the street at the local pub. Area appeared to be safe for walking late at night. Many choices of food. We had dinner at the Bengal Brasserie. Excellent Indian food, dishes we would not find in Texas at our local Indian café.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great b&b close to the centre of York.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Really welcoming and friendly staff. Hearty breakfast. Will go back.
4 out of 5
by ann hoskins

Highly recomended

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it. Our breakfast was very good and filling. The hosts where very attentive and I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice hotel cottage feeling good food parking at public house across the street