Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Great hotel, fab for families.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Breakfast, family room, staff!
Location: Great access to local area
On arrival, kids were given a gift. Room was great and ready a little earlier so we got in after we arrived a little early. Kids enjoyed the playroom, bar was good, breakfast was excellent, family felt welcome by everyone. Will return, no doubt!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
The hotel is in a great place to expore York, the hotel is well looked after and would like to say thanks to the staff for making this a great stay for my daughters birthday
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & excellent staff.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Excellent customer service from all staff in the hotel. Room was ok, needs a bit of updating as it’s looking a bit tired. Shower was fantastic but bathroom got extremely hot, needs a better exhaust fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

excellent

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Nice hotel staff
Location: It is very close to town
I am pleasantly surprised. It is very good the hotel and area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Hotel was fabulous close to town centre

Posted Dec 27, 2017
My family and I had the best stay ever my son loved the hotel said it's the best one he's stayed in so far we will be definitely be going back.the staff were exceptional so friendly and hotel so clean and fresh .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire novotel

Good location & fast c/in & out.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Superb location! Within walking distance fm city ctr. Hotel staff - James was super helpful & even helped us with the luggages! 1 setback was the bathtub was choked and dirt, hair was seen at the tub. No bedrm slippers nor toothbrush was provided too Other than these, evrythng was fine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield.

I iNce Hotel near to city.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Easy to find from south, lovely room, fridge, lovely staff. Short walk from centre and bus routes very near. Very good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Nice hotel walking distance from town centre

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Staff very friendly, hotel clean, room very comfortable and breakfast excellent. BUT forgot to take trunks. Pool looked very inviting
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice Reception- Shame about the room

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was OK
Cons: The rooms need improving drastically!!
Location: Location was good, only thing going for it really.
A very well used room to say the least. The stool at the end of the bed was very dirty so put me off as soon as we walked in. There was children running up and down the corridor and shouting to there friends through the hotel doors from 6am both mornings so wasn't exactly the lie in we had hoped for. The room walls were that thin I heard next doors get up alarm go off just before 6am! The room was very basic and I was very disappointed to have paid a very large sum of money for B&B for 2 nights. After the experience, I would say it was worth less than half than what we paid. This stay was for mine & my husbands mini moon as we really couldn't afford an abroad trip as we have a child and work. This was a disappointing stay and really upset that we wasted such a large amount of money on a very below satisfactory room. Definitely will not be revisiting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing, definitely 3*

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Cons: Improve the AC/heating system as very outdated and didn't seem capable of heating the room.
Location: Relatively close to the city centre.
Upon arrival in late November the room was freezing. After 30 mins I complained, they said maintenance had turned it up, after 1 hour it was still freezing. The staff eventually brought a small heater which did the trick. The room was quite basic, separate bathroom and toilet. Defintiely does not deserve a 4* rating, I would put this as a 3* hotel. A lift was out of service so long waits to go up and down in the one remaining lift.