Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Christmas shopping trip to York

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, clean
Booked a twin room with breakfast at a reasonable rate for a one night stay. Location is convenient for shops and tourist attractions and within easy walking distance to many bars and restaurants. The hotel has its own secure car park and is charged currently at £12 for an overnight stay. Check in was smooth and quick despite there being a bit of a queue. The hotel is modern, clean and well presented and the staff members we came into contact with were friendly efficient and helpful. Breakfast was fine and is served buffet style with a good selection of food - something for every taste -although I thought the room itself and furniture could have been better. It more resembled a 'work canteen' than nice hotel restaurant. One cirticism I would make would be the comfort of the beds and pillows. This is a very personal thing as everyone has their own idea of what is comfortable, but I didnt sleep very well and found the pillows too solid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south shields

Great hotel very convenient for centre of town

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The central location Clean and modern rooms Undercover car park
Cons: Sorry can't think of any
Location: Very near the town centre and as we go by car we always visi the Mcarthur Glen outlets. Also the Christmas market is worth seeing.
We are regular visitors to York and this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The room was clean and modern. Loved the walk in shower and lovely thick bath sheets. The breakfast was very well layed out with everything anyone would want for breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The undercover car park was also very convenient. We would most certainly book this hotel for our next visit to York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Perfect location for York centre & river view.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: for one night's stay, I didn't notice anything.
Location: See above.
Christmas shopping at Designer Outlet & York city centre followed by drinks in riverside bar and comfortable nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Great Hotel in centre of York

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Great Hotel, very clean with friendly staff and good service. Central for all areas of York
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Central York with all the facilities
Great Hotel, very clean with friendly staff and good service. Central for all areas of York
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Freezing cold in November

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Management
Stayed early November, room freezing no heating. Transpired the next day that the heating was blocked! Duvet was so thin when held up to the light you could see through it. Had to lay coats on the bed to keep warm. When I complained at reception they said we know about that we have new ones on order! Not what you expect from a Radisson hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
I am very disappointed to read your review and hope you will accept my apologies. The air conditioning can occasionally become locked but this can easily be resolved by our reception team and is not something the hotel does deliberately, I assure you. With regards to the duvet, there are new ones on order as discussed, but again we would have been happy to change this on request. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beverley

york - weekend

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We wanted to stay to enjoy a concert at opera house and not drive home. Lovely clean rooms great location nice staff and all at a good price point - stellar night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jane It sounds as though you had a wonderful evening and thank you for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Main issue was the tiny room, ridiculous! Will not use this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Vic I agree that the single room is very cosy but it does provide all the same services as a double, which may be more suitable to you Needs. Please accept my apologies; it is disappointing when a guest leaves unhappy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matlock

Good value in the heart of the city.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
A very accessible and comfortable stay. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Shopping trip with a friend

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Could be slightly more central, closer to shops and eateries but this was only a slight problem to my friend and I, both of whom have walking difficulties. Very quiet location, room overlooking the river, comfortable and with all amenities. Staff vey pleasant and helpful, excellent buffet breakfast. Modern decor, perhaps not to my taste, but very clean. Good shower but could use hand shower attachment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Convenient, clean, friendly, I have no more to add. I will keep writing until this site thinks I have added enough words