Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Great country hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
From check in to check out always a happy face. Food of a very high standard very go relaxed atmosphere in all areas of hotel I will be staying here for sure again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Wedding anniversary treat

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Consistency
Location: Great base for all that North Yorks has to offer
Have stayed at the Black Swan before and it never disappoints.Another great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Disappointing. Hotel starting to look dated and tired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Only average.Good decor but poor service

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Decor location
Cons: Service in bar and restaurant
Location: Castle, walled garden walks
Lovely decor relaxing ambiance but only average service in particular in the over priced restaurant
4 out of 5
by Nicola

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
The black swan is a lovely hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable. The restaurant however left a little to be desired. We were 3/4 of an hour later than our booking going in for dinner, the service was slow,no interaction between staff and guests and lacking ambience. The food was good when it eventually arrived. I did mention these points on checkout and the management did take 25% off our food bill. If they sort out the problems in the restaurant i would definately stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Nice hotel in pleasant market town

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The location, the pleasant staff who were always happy to assist with information. The fire in the lounge on wet days . Pleasant dining room .
Cons: Parking is up a lane. Infront of hotel not always available even with a blue badge. No lift , steep stairs.
Location: Helmsley good centre for attractions including Whitby and the Moors. Craft centres, glass and pottery studios . Captain Cook Museum is superb
Pleasant stay, the hotel has a good feel and the staff very friendly and helpful. Really Yorkshire ! The lounge and Bar are comfortable rooms to relax in .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet with a touch of class

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Centrally located in the small town of Helmsley. Ideal for Duncombe Park and the National Centre for Birds of Prey
This was a last second booking as our previous plans had fallen apart. we had to be close to an event we were attending in Helmsley. The staff were professional and friendly from the moment we arrived until the second we left. We were so happy that we will be re-booking for The Falconry Fair we are attending.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great destination but disappointing hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: location and appearance , the thought of staying somewhere 'special'
Cons: value for money, dinner menu, repair to shower screen
Location: Walking; Helmsley shops (2 superb delis !) Castle, Abbeys, Duncombe Park. Castle Howard. Coast.
Helmsley & NYM area is simply great for a weekend away- we have been many many many times. Walking/ castles/ abbeys/coast/ Moors/wildlife. We chose Black Swan hotel as a special treat for our wedding anniversary. Hotel is undeniably nice, clean, characterful and comfortable which was what attracted us to book in the first place, we had a good size 'classic' room but sadly also some disappointments. The biggest was the evening dinner menu which was very limited (just 2 steaks, braised beef, 1 plain fish, 1 curried fish and 1 vegetarian as main courses, just 3 desserts)- a problem when you've booked DBB and diet and expectation require a wider choice. Breakfast service (to us?) was non existent; we had to ask to be served several times -although the quality of the food at both evening and breakfast was good and we did not go away hungry. Perhaps not unsurprisingly the bar is expensive too. In our room our shower screen was ineffective and water ponded all over the bathroom floor. This won't have just happened, the seal must have been worn for some time. Arguably when you've chosen somewhere 'special' to celebrate a milestone event the cost is not the concern, but we started to feel that we were paying over the odds for what we were actually getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Amazing Hotel, Food and Staff

Posted Apr 14, 2017
From arrival to departure it was a great weekend. The room was clean and had all ameneties required. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were very friendly. The food was perfect, we had the taster meal the first night with wine pairing and the steak the following night with one of the wines we'd tasted on the pairing menu the previous night. Lovely atmosphere in the bar when they had a live singer on. Drinks selection was vast, especially the gin options :) Location is right on market square which has plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops to peruse.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Overpriced for average