Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anerdeen

Comfortable, clean and close to the Minster.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Lovely hotel, staff helpful but not in your face. Room cleaned every day and lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Beautiful hotel close to centre

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Beautiful hotel lovely rooms . Prince of wales suite lovely with huge bathtub . Food really well cooked and staff friendly and helpful.Couldnt fault our visit would deffinately recomend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon

Amazing!!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We booked the Prince of Wales Suite for our anniversary weekend and we were not disssppointed. Amazing room. Lovely friendly staff. Excellent food at great prices. Perfect location. Lovely atmosphere. We definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Liked the styling of the hotel, and the outside seating. Particularly loved Churchill's Cigar Bunker, nice unique touch
Cons: I came by train, but my cousin had to pay £10 a night to park in hotel car park, which is my only negative point about whole stay. Totally excessive.
Location: Location was ideal. Went to Cafe 8 Bistro which is close by and excellent. Also sat outside for food at Ate O'clock which was lovely in September.
This is a lovely hotel, where we booked a family room to allow a bit of extra space at very little extra cost.Stayed 2 nights and were able to easily walk to city centre to go out and find places for dinner. It was very clean, with nice bathroom and was ideal for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Didcot

Close to centre of York

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, great breakfast, cooked to order
Cons: No
Location: Great location, just out of the centre, and so was quiet
Ideal location, just outside the city centre. Parking could have been free, £10 a day seemed unnecessary, considering the cost of the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Had a very good time and a very convient location as it is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Breakfast however is not the best and would recommend eating out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location friendly staff terrible parking

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Upon arrival we struggled to find a parking space due to a wedding party, however stafff were very helpful sorting this out. Have to say I wasn't aware parking charges weren't included in cost when booking. The chef decided to spatchcock my £25 steak as we ordered at 9pm (at last orders..) which I found rather funny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Very Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Nothing
Location: As above
We come to York often & always try to stay at The Churchill. Good location 10 minutes from The Minster & City Centre. Car park on site which is a bonas as a lot of hotels don't have parking available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great location! We could walk to the major sights. There was a charge for parking, not a big deal but a surprise. We were just happy that parking was available. The hotel is old. It could use an update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio, USA

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Friendly staff. Cozy, comfortable room. Clean. Delicious breakfast.