Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Friendly hotel close to York and attractions.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel was friendly comfortable and perfect location. Food couldn’t have been better.
Location: York centre is 15 mins away and once there lead to York Minster, Jorvik, Clifford Tower and the railway museum can be reached by a train 20 mins away
Upon arrival friendly faces welcomed us into the hotel. The room was comfortable and met all our requirements. They took time to advise directions to York city centre and Places we wanted to visited. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and prepared us For the day.
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Mini break in York

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Helen is a very helpful and welcoming hostess.The Farthings is well located and I happily recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very good. Helpful, hospitable, nothing too much trouble.
4 out of 5
by MA

Farthings Guest House

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The Farthings is a small, family run hotel. Having said that, of the family, we only dealt with Helen, who is a very lovely lady. She was able to guide us on a number of matters, from how to get to the Church, where the wedding we were attending was taking place, to directions around town, booking taxis for us etc. The hotel was immaculate and had an old world charm about it. If you like modern decor then this is not the place for you. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair and we were set for the day. I was a little disappointed when they said they didn't have kippers, which was highlighted on the menu as a speciality. The town centre and access to the old city wall is a short 10 minutes walk. All in all, it was a good place to stay and I would recommend it to others who like the personal touch and don't want to stay in well known chains of hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for a lone parent & teenager.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Good price and wonderful hosts.
Cons: No, not really. I want to go again with hubby this time.
Location: York was fabulous. Quirky independent resturants and shops. Teenager wasn't bored for a moment. Highlights: Chocolate Story, Shambles and ghost walk.
Easy walk from the station with a warm welcome when we arrived. Again easy walk into town. Go across the park and then left. Twin beds so, lanky boy didn't have to share with Mum or sofa bed. TV, robes and everything you needed. Great breakfast for a growning lad. Will recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
by Nikki

good value

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good breakfast and comfortable bed in a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great B&B to Stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Lovely B&B to stay, friendly, clean, delicious breakfast, walking distance into town. Highly recommend to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of host.
Cons: More reliable shower.
Location: Fairly near to city but also local restaurants and shops very near. In a very quiet road with parking outside. There is a fairly busy road at the end.
Whilst on the train we were phoned by the host to offer the chance to book in as soon as we arrived rather than waiting until official book in time. Room fairly small but well equipped and clean. Breakfast was excellent with everything offered that we could possibly need. Shower a bit temperamental but host tried to sort this for us. Fairly quiet area with good facilities near by as well as the city an easily manageable walk away. All in all good value for money.
5 out of 5
by John Martin

A 5 Star stay at the Farthings Guest House

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
There is not a bad word I can say about my stay at the Farthings guest house. From the first day Helen, her Mum and poppy (the Dog) made me feel most welcome and the breakfast can not be beaten, I am not surprised they have won an award for their food. My room and the whole guest house was very clean and fresh. When I return to York on holiday I will definitely stay at the Farthings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay in beautiful York

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The Farthings House was an ideal stopover for our short visit to York, conveniently located for us to see the city's main attractions. The room was comfortable and quiet and the owners were accommodating about keeping our luggage during our sightseeing. We give it a strong recommendation.