Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arbroath.

Hotel in a very pretty village on The Wolds Way

Posted Jul 2, 2017
First of all I got a fantastic welcome from Lee and Carol who are very chatty and a really nice couple who couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. Their daughter was the chef and the food was excellent, generous portions and to be honest I thought was underpriced for what you got. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to any walkers doing the Way in fact it'd be the first place to book to make sure you get in! Hope to return again 1 day. Keep up the good work, enjoyed it immensely.
5 out of 5
by Kerene

Very nice

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very good stay, nice brecfest Friendly staff
4 out of 5
by John from Middlesbrough

Nice stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent food lovely company nice pint
4 out of 5
by popsrowe from Prestatyn, wales

Fantastic meals

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
The meals produced by Giles were fantastic and very reasonable in price. The cask ale was very enjoyable but the location of the room was very close to the outside smoking area that became very noisy late at night. The location of the pub was ideal for visiting Beverley.
4 out of 5
by nicky from rugby

the gnu inn

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast service was friendly, fast and very informative. Rooms were as expected. Woke with a rustling from food delivery just before 7 am which we could have done without. Nice inn with pretty surrounding area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels
Welcome was warm, nothing too much trouble, plenty of parking and evèning meals. Enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by agoxray@aol.com from yeovil

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
bed not comfy. Kitchen closed . owners are quite new to being a pub landlord but are trying. bathroom ok. not good value.
5 out of 5
by Chris Lea

Lovely country location

Posted Sep 28, 2012 on Hotels
My wife, daughter, her friend and myself had the pleasure of staying at The Gnu Public House on the 22nd September 2012. It was very busy when we arrived at about 7pm, which told me that the landlords ran a very good house. The double room that we had was very comfortable and the twin that my daughter and friend had was the same. We had our evening meal here which was very good and value for money. Really good home cooking. The breakfast the following morning was also of good merit. Had a very pleasant chat with the landlady before we left thanking her for a very pleasurable and comfy stay. Both she and her husband Steve are very nice and competent hosts. Would recommend whole heartedly . Many thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place for quiet night

Posted Aug 30, 2012
If you are looking for some were nice and quiet this is the place, excellent value for money. Steve and his wife could not be more helpful, food was excellent also
4 out of 5
by Carol and John

close to seaton ross for rallying

Posted Aug 23, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay was only for one night. We arrived too late for a meal but it was no trouble for them to prepare us sandwiches after our long drive. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the room was clean and very comfortable with tea and cofee making facilities. We went on our way with a tasty, well cooked full Enlish breakfast. Would venture back.