Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great stay in a beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
We stayed one night for our anniversary in an executive standard room which was lovely. Food was good, staff were great and the building is unforgettable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Business Trip

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Scenery and position.
Cons: have better opening windows and air-con within the rooms even it they are portable ones...
A nice hotel to stay in and has some amazing scenery, but was a little disappointed with the room I was given as it was one of the Hot nights and there was No Air-Con within the room and the roof only window wouldn't open more than an inch, so had an uncomfortable nights sleep. Food wasn't great but staff where pleasant. would stay again but would try next time and pick another hotel first.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Beautiful hotel and grounds

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting and historic/b //
Cons: Would be good if breakfast was included in the price. the price for breakfast was horrendous! Special cheaper deals.
Location: Lots to do shopping/ walking/beaches/ places of interest.
Beautiful room but spoilt by painted red unit. Beautiful bathroom and amazing shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey Channel Islands

Awful accommodation

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Decent location and nice surroundings
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms. Better service in lounges as we had to go searching for a waiter or someone to serve drinks after 9.00pm and afternoon
Location: Close to a number of historical sites
No air conditioning in hot rooms. Poor service in bar and lounge. Constant smell of vomit in passageway and lift. Too much focus on functions and not on guests
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Nice outlook and comfortable rooms
Location: Good base for exploring the moors and coast.
We enjoyed the hotel whilst working at a local business. However, felt conned when charged a Breakfast Suppliment - we had breakfast at work so had to pay extra not to have breakfast at the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

Room was value for money, restaurant not so much

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Staff, reception rooms, bedrooms, grounds
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Convenient for Saltburn and other attractive coastal towns, and for the magnificent North Yorkshire moors
This is a fine, grand country house that has been converted to a very comfortable hotel, with impressive reception rooms and a courteous and obliging staff. The restaurant is spacious, quite elegant and well staffed; the menu is narrow, conservative, dull and overpriced. The bedrooms are well equipped, well furnished, well serviced and quiet. On the downside, TV reception was severely limited, possibly due to the remarkably foul weather for mid June. On the upside, the grounds feature magnificent rhododendrons, and llamas. The price of our stay was very reasonable for a hotel of this standard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, lovely area too

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Bedroom 123
Cons: slightly larger menu choice in bistro for main meals.
Location: great for visiting coast - moors - or walking Roseberry Topping
We only stayed one night to celebrate my husbands birthday, but the hotel was a gem, delighted when we first drove up to it, pleasant reception and beautiful lounges. Then we went to our room "Terrace Room" 123 - superb, beautiful large box bay window, huge mahogany four poster bed, very good size, many treats and luxurious drapes. Very enjoyable stay, ate in the G Bistro bar, lovely lady served us, food very good (after first sending back overcooked first steak) but worth waiting for replacement. good breakfast next morning too.
5 out of 5
by Shantha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shantha from Miltonkeynes

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Perfect for a quite get away

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: It was lovely to see that lots of the original features had been restored in and around the building.
Cons: Breakfast could be served warmer the plates were hot but the food only warm. Very enjoyable though?
Had a lovely stay, when the staff found out it as my husbands birthday they presented him with a lovely plate of chocolates and a happy birthday message enscribed in chocolate a very nice personal touch.