Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bancroft Ontario Canada

Great value

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Cons: The ice machine wasn't working for a few weeks
Location: Not far from Williamsburg close to the Newport News airport and a closer drive to Virginia Beach that Williamsburg
A great hotel for the price. The rooms are clean,the building well maintained, the breakfast had eggs and sausage not just breads and fruit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

We did not stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Location: N /A
The two rooms we looked at were deodorized with Frabreeze beyond belief. The checkin girl even had a bottle of it in her hands. She also had a dog behind the counter with her. We were tired and very disappointed and left a tablet behind on a dresser. Unfortunately, they were not very helpful in retrieving our tablet and refused to check in with the new tenants or empty room. In any case, it was a horrible experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place for traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Price was good for traveler looking for a nice place to spend the night without a lot of amenities.
Cons: Breakfast situation.
Staff very friendly, helpful. Clean building and room. Breakfast a disappointment. Not well stocked, messy, no fruit.
4 out of 5
by pete

Above average budget class inn.. would recommend

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
A good budget class inn. pros: comfortable bed coffee/juice 24/7 availble good location safe area large room friendly staff cons: boring breakfast (carbs and grease) needs better housekeeping hit or miss maintenance...lots of things stained, patched, or ignored.... TINY pool This red roof could easily be a first class inn with some work however my guess is that they have budget constraints, so they are trying to do the most with the least possible expenditures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, would definitely recommend

Posted May 11, 2017
This was a standard, mid-range hotel. Nothing special, nothing great. Except.... The night staff was wonderful. This is why it gets 5 stars from me. Matthew, who wasn't even the front desk person the night I checked in, was so wonderful. Expedia had not sent my reservation to them, but Matthew honored the rate I got through Expedia, was so polite and funny, and was so through the evening when I saw him. So, yeah, I would highly recommend this hotel. Also, there's a lot of eating and shopping nearby and it's very close to Kings Dominion and Water Country.
4 out of 5
by Donna

Yorktown visit

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Generally everything was good, but the washing and ice machine were broken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Very nice staff. Much nicer hotel than I expected
3 out of 5
by Lisa

Only OK.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is great for our family. The beds were much firmer than we prefer. There is free breakfast, but some obvious choices were not available (at least not every day). We were happy that there was yogurt, but there was no fruit (such as bananas). Oatmeal was missing on first day. Otherwise OK choices. Ice machine was broken and not repaired during our 3 night stay. It was obvious that our door had been broken into before and very poorly repaired. This wouldn't be my first choice if there were more hotels in the area. At least the water pressure was better than our visit several years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean and convenient

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Cleaner, newer hotel, good parking.
Cons: Found a pair of underwear behind the tv--and it didn't belong to us. Points off for that, housekeeping.
Location: Convenient to historic Yorktown. Lots of food options nearby.
Pleasant place, clean, nice folks, and the free breakfast includes scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage. All good. Convenient to Yorktown. Not so good: we stayed here partly because they had laundry facilities. They sold me little boxes of laundry soap, and I find out the ONLY washing machine has an "out of service" sign on it. C'mon, people..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our needs, most important clean

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The only problem we saw, not enough staff, had only one person in all of hotel in the afternoon, she had to be superwoman