Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you need a short stopover

Posted May 23, 2017
We stayed at Royal Carriage for one night as a stopover in our drive from San Fran to Vegas. It was located fairly near Yosemite where we spent a day and so it was a convenient stopover that was affordable as the hotels near Yosemite are either a bit more expensive or get booked out pretty quick. But apart from that, this isn't anything to shout about. The hotel is rather old and has an musky odor in the corridor and the lobby. The consolation is that the room itself was fairly clean so it was sufficient for a good night's rest. But I wouldn't have chosen this location otherwise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rochester ny

Problems

Posted May 22, 2017
The breakfast is fair and the room quite lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The recommended dinner restaurant was excellent. The room was outwardly okay BUT the one big drawer in the dresser was filled with someone else's dirty clothes. When I mentioned it to the front desk, besides a cursory I'm so sorry, the response was I'll tell the maid. Not satisfactory. The room refrigerator had a large puddle of water on the bottom. The towels were thin and threadbare. The hot water needed perhaps 5 minutes to get beyond cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

A terrific spot in gold country

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The ambiance and vicinity.
Location: The gold country provides unlimited opportunities for sight seeing and adventure.
This hotel was a surprise. I was expecting something a tiny bit better than a motel 6. We walked into a beautiful trip to the past. Wonderful furnishings and a great bed made our visit special. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice gentleman checked us in and recommended some local eats. The hotel was a bit dated but the whole town is. The rooms were clean and affordable. The balcony in the hotel was great for people watching.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Hotel for Sonora Celtic Fair

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced, comfortable.
Cons: The parking in back is a little cramped. Parking on the street is available.
Location: Picturesque little town, five minutes away from the Sonora Fairgrounds.
Comfortable hotel, reasonably priced, relatively close to venue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy Historic Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
I loved our stay at Royal Carriage. I felt like I was in the movie Tombstone and expected to see Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday walking past down the boardwalk. The rooms are small but quaint with old-timey furnishings. We had an upstairs room with easy access to the long over-Main-Street porch so we could hang out outside, lean on the rail, and watch the activity below in the Historic District of Jamestown. Great antique shops, restaurants, and boutiques to shop in within spitting distance. I will definitely book a room here again.
1 out of 5
by Edwin

never again will i go back

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Well the place is older than dirt. The alarm clock and other items were broken. The housekeeper left my door unlock all day while I was gone all-day
1 out of 5
by Vera

No good

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Its was not clean and i got a rash they had bed bugs i want a refund if possible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Great antique style hotel. The bed and bedding was fantastic- truly made the stay more enjoyable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms dirty.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Rooms were dirty. Specifically floors and walls. Rags left out in hall. Looks like proper cleaning does not take place. Lobby also dusty, dirty. No Breakfast as advertised was available. Coffee in room only decaf.