Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Lovely room w/kitchen in the area

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The facility and the separate cabins are great. it was quiet and nicely appointed. We prefer to be out of the hustle and bustle so this worked well.
Cons: The sofa bed. My boys are 11 and 15 and this may be the last time they are able to sleep on a this sofa bed mattress without a full revolt.
Location: I really thought this was closer to Yosemite Valley. But, that's on me for not understanding. It was an 1:45 min drive to the valley.
We stayed in the lovely "Adobe" cottage. It was more spacious than I expected and it was cozy and warm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kitchen worked great for us. It is small but had everything we needed. We have a child with severe food allergies so this allowed us to travel and cook safely. The location is a bit remote from Yosemite but we had a great day trip into the park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LV, NV

Would not recommend.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: I was told that the cabin was very close to Yosemite, Half Dome. We traveled over an hr to get to where I thought we were going to be. Shouldn't lie
The cabin was described as "large living room with 2 queen beds". We got 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed that was the worse ever. Ladies in the living room removed the cushions from the sofa and slept on the floor. The room was dusty even though it looks like someone had stayed there the night before. You could write your name on the dust around the television. 1 television and it was maybe a 17"? Just tiny and in a very high position where we all had to look up to see the set. There were 4 of us and there was no place comfortable to sit except the sofa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 20, 2016
If you want to get away from it all this is the place. Peace and quiet. Nice clean rooms. With small kitchen. Goodies every morning. You are close enough approx. 5 miles from Oakhurst. And about 45 min from Yosemite's South entrance. Would definitely stay here again👍🏻
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The shower was not very good. The water pressure was not enough to wash the soap off. There were no grab bars in the shower-an accident waiting to happen. The mattress on the bed was poor and should have been replaced. The television/satellite system did not work.It was an overpriced cabin. The picture of the cabin on the internet is deceiving.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington state

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Location: at the south entrance to Yosemite, the nearby Oakhurst had great dinner spots and another grove of Sequoias nearby -- great stuff!
friendly hosts, wonderful cottage, lots of room, good bed, well equipped kitchen in a tranquil setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

You can't get much better than perfect.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Everything. Friendly staff . . . spotlessly clean rooms and bedding . . . peach and quiet . . . . a nature environment . . . and did I mention quiet?
Cons: Nothing. If it were my own cottage in the woods it would have been exactly the same.
Location: The small town of Oakhurst is pretty amazing. It has an old world charm, yet everything is new, clean and well organized. South Gate Brewery is great.
Our three nights at the Homestead Cottages was absolutely perfect. We felt as though was our own cabin in the woods. Laura and Walter make guest feel right at home and share their enthusiasm about the area with guests. We will return for the peace and quiet and the independence guests experience by having their own cottage, rather than elevator rides and long corridors of traditional motels. Cheers, David & Diana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York


Posted Aug 17, 2016
This is the best spot in and around Yosemite. The staff was five star, the cabin was exceptional and the view of the night sky was spectacular. We've been to Yosemite in the past and I wish we would have known about this sooner. This was just wonderful. We are so grateful to have found this spot. All the reviews are on point. This place is a gem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Quiet and isolated cabin experience

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: We liked the isolated location ... great for stargazing. The innkeepers were also very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Nothing to improve. The cabin was clean and breakfasts of fruit, granola, muffins, OJ and coffee were provided.
Location: Watch out for directions from your GPS. Ours lead us down an unpaved road where we eventually had to turn around and return to the highway.
We really enjoyed the three nights we spent here. It is located about an hour from the southern entrance to Yosemite, so it is far enough away to avoid the massive crowds that descend on the park in August.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute cottages, convenient location

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Location: Yosemite National Park, Oakhurst, had any supplies you'd need.
Very homey atmosphere, Laurie and Walter couldn't have been nicer. Loved our loft- it had everything we needed and nothing we didn't.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Close to Yosemite! Quiet and Cozy!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
A perfect spot to stay... We lovef it and would highly recommend !