Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was charming about 10 years ago

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The hotel wasn't charming or cosy at all. The rooms were old and decadent. The breakfast was poor and by the end of our stay everything had ended, so the breakfast was even worse. Not even the soap on the shower was replaced during the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great stay. Room was awesome and the staff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Well worth it!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: A feeling of warmth and comfort.
Cons: Internet was weak
Location: Excellent dinner at El Cid with many outstanding restaurants within a mile, Bass Lake is 20 minutes away, and Yosemite is 30 minutes.
My wife and I decided to run away for a weekend and much to our surprise the Hounds Tooth Inn exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, quiet, and well equipped, and the breakfast was excellent. There was always a pot of coffee available, plenty of reading material throughout the Inn, and it just felt like a real home away from home. We will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Maria, Hotel Management
We are glad to have you share your experience with us. We would love to have you back. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Main flaw was that the room and rest of the hotel were not clean, breakfast and wine of very cheap quality and spa water was brown. Other than that, it was fine. A few Nice restaurants in the area, quiet location. However, would not return for the same price.
4 out of 5
by Claudiu Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little amenities given cost, food quality concerns

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was mediocre overall. Room amenities were minimal. TV remote was basically broken. TV signal was only fair. TV was small and low sound quality. No coffee or anything but water was available in-room, despite a full kitchen. Website/hotel literature said coffee was available from the dining area starting at 7 AM, but was not until close to 8 AM. However, there were some instant coffee packets available. Food quality for free breakfast ranged from good to poor, depending upon item: 1. some fruits in the fruit basket were nearly rotten, despite being prominent (on top) for hotel staff to notice. 2. yogurt served was at its expiration date 3. hard-boiled eggs appeared to be about 2 weeks old. 4. concerned about undated items, based on what was observable. The main benefit to the room we stayed in ("Summer House") was that it was very wheelchair compatible in every regard (dedicated parking right at it, large entrances, large open room plan, full wheelchair compatible bathroom, easy access to main Cal King bed). But we had no such need. The hotel seems to be under new management. I can't see how it could get the reputation it has based on how it is now. It seems it is being run according to a "Charge the maximum, provide the minimum" philosophy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Close enough to Yosemite Valley for the price.
We loved the in-room jacuzzi tub. The included breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, United States of America

Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Guests service is top notch. Friendly and helpful.
Cons: The water quality wasn't that great...the water had a yellow look to it like it needed more softener or something. It was hot though :) oh..don't flush while the shower is on! Ouch!
Location: It's about an hour drive into Yosemite NP...staying here allows you to visit some local pubs/brewers at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels