Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Getaway Opportunity

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The scenery, breakfast and customer service
Location: All eateries in town are a short drive away
This bed and Breakfast is a great find. The location is amazing. It's right outside of the town of Oakhurst, but close enough so that one can visit the town to eat or shop. One can reunite with nature along with a bottle of wine. The rooms were very homie, in a good way. Maria and her staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The complimentary breakfast is not in abundance in either choices nor amount, but it's just enough to get your day started. Overall a great place, will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B& B

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Pretty easy access to Yosemite, many restaurant and other facilities close by.
Location: The entrance to Yosemite was a very convenient drive. We found a few good options for dinner, gas, groceries very close by.
A nice B& B experience. The room was cozy and clean. The hostess was very pleasant and provided a nice hot breakfast, and a wine social in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by M, Hotel Management
thank you for staying with us.... we're looking forward to see you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was charming about 10 years ago

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The hotel wasn't charming or cosy at all. The rooms were old and decadent. The breakfast was poor and by the end of our stay everything had ended, so the breakfast was even worse. Not even the soap on the shower was replaced during the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by M, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying, but we will highly appreciate if you say the TRUTH.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great stay. Room was awesome and the staff is great.
5 out of 5
by Charles

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived we greeted with a glass of wine. How cool was that! The room was very cozy with that cottage look.charming. Morning breakfast was brought to the room (due to renovations ) as an added plus. Maria was very friendly. breakfast was delicious plenty of veggies and fruit,toast, jelly .hot coffee.juice, desert cakes. surrounding areas getting ready to turn green, Added bonus a waterfall in the garden. The surrounding countryside was full of wild turkeys,deer, wild birds. what a treat or should i say tweet! I would definitely recommend this place for someone who isn't in a rush
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017
Thank you so much for making us part of your great experience, we appreciate you staying with us and we are looking forward for your "come back"...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Well worth it!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: A feeling of warmth and comfort.
Cons: Internet was weak
Location: Excellent dinner at El Cid with many outstanding restaurants within a mile, Bass Lake is 20 minutes away, and Yosemite is 30 minutes.
My wife and I decided to run away for a weekend and much to our surprise the Hounds Tooth Inn exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, quiet, and well equipped, and the breakfast was excellent. There was always a pot of coffee available, plenty of reading material throughout the Inn, and it just felt like a real home away from home. We will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Maria, Hotel Management
We are glad to have you share your experience with us. We would love to have you back. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Main flaw was that the room and rest of the hotel were not clean, breakfast and wine of very cheap quality and spa water was brown. Other than that, it was fine. A few Nice restaurants in the area, quiet location. However, would not return for the same price.
4 out of 5
by Claudiu Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little amenities given cost, food quality concerns

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was mediocre overall. Room amenities were minimal. TV remote was basically broken. TV signal was only fair. TV was small and low sound quality. No coffee or anything but water was available in-room, despite a full kitchen. Website/hotel literature said coffee was available from the dining area starting at 7 AM, but was not until close to 8 AM. However, there were some instant coffee packets available. Food quality for free breakfast ranged from good to poor, depending upon item: 1. some fruits in the fruit basket were nearly rotten, despite being prominent (on top) for hotel staff to notice. 2. yogurt served was at its expiration date 3. hard-boiled eggs appeared to be about 2 weeks old. 4. concerned about undated items, based on what was observable. The main benefit to the room we stayed in ("Summer House") was that it was very wheelchair compatible in every regard (dedicated parking right at it, large entrances, large open room plan, full wheelchair compatible bathroom, easy access to main Cal King bed). But we had no such need. The hotel seems to be under new management. I can't see how it could get the reputation it has based on how it is now. It seems it is being run according to a "Charge the maximum, provide the minimum" philosophy.