Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Lovely gazebo and places to sit outside.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The rooms and the grounds.
Cons: The breakfasts
Location: About 25 miles outside Yosemite with several good restaurants in the Oakhurst. We ate the second night at the Majestic Yosemite Hotel on night 2.
We thought we lost our room key and were afraid we would have to pay their (outrageous) $100 lost key fee. It turns out that one of the staff found it where we had sat outside the front door after coming back from dinner the first night and it must have dropped out of a pocket. But he did not tell any other staff or us about it until we were about to leave on the third day. It had our room number on it. It caused us to lose sleep over what to do. The first night when we realized it was gone as we got to our room, we thought we had left it in the room (the door locks when you shut it.) We got a spare key and searched the room and even went back to the restaurant where we had dinner to look. The next morning we left early and didn't see any staff. When we got back we borrowed a key again (and it turned out it was the one we lost.) The same person who found it gave it to us that time, but said nothing. It wasn't until we turned in that key and I said that it was the one we lost that the person came forward and FINALLY said he had found it. It had a yellow disc on it with the room number and did not look like other keys. That marred what should have been a delightful stay. Also, both breakfasts were a real disappointment. We have stayed in many other bed and breakfasts though out the US and Europe and they were the worst breakfast we've ever had in a B&B/Inn..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stop outside of Yosemite

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The location just outside of the park was great and it is very close to the cute little downtown area.
Location: Basically the downtown of Oakhurst is right down the street and the best entrance into Yosemite is up the road only 20 minutes. Great central spot!
My daughter and I were only traveling through the area on our way back to San Francisco. It was a great location just outside of Yosemite that we could use as a stepping off point to get to the park for a short time. It was a very nice house and I hope we can come back to stay longer next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet reprieve from busy Yosemite

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet.
Close to southern entrance. Quiet evenings. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Close to Yosemite (45 minutes drive)

Posted Jul 16, 2016
A comfortable stopover, well situated for Yosemite. Helpful staff. Good restaurants and shops in Oakhurst.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway close to Yosemite

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice with hot tub and fireplace.
Cons: The breakfast could use some main staples (eggs, meat, oatmeal).
Location: It's near Yosemite and Oakhurst. Lots of hiking, trails and outdoor activities.
Wonderful room with hot tub and a fireplace. Lots of room and a nice view. Staff was pleasant and they had a nice hosted wine reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Great location for visiting Yosemite.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: location, quiet, comfortable
Cons: staff professionalism, courtesy. Keep kids away. Maintenance items better looked after. Breakfast area better kept clean
Location: Yosemte nearby, Mariposa also. Close to casino. Plenty restaurants in area
Checkin w/ middle aged woman upsetting. She was very gruff, no charm or grace. Bad start. Staff bring kids, not good at B&B. Room comfortable, roomy and clean. a few maintenace items needed attention. Sad to see garden walk all grown over w/ weeds, vines, as was nice amenity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Comfortable, clean and quiet

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Location: Near Yosemite's south entrance. Check out the South Gate Brewing Co. for a burger and a local brew; excellent!
We were very pleased with this B&B, especially since we made a last minute change to our reservation. Maria was very accommodating and flexible even though she was not required to be. We would have understood is she had refused, but she didn't, and we were very appreciative. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outskirts of Oakhurst

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We had our attached little house. The view was very pretty and everything was as you'd expect it. It was nice to be on the hill above the main hotel. The drive into Yosemite was not bad. We drove to Yosemite twice in two days. The third time would've been too much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Quiet, friendly stay.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: My room (#8 - Robray room) was very comfortable...nice bed, plenty of hot water for the showers, and good breakfast food.
Cons: n/a
Location: 2 miles to Oakhurst and 12 miles to the Park.
I stayed for 5 nights. It served as my launching point for my stay at Yosemite Nat'l Park. The staff was very friendly. Maria and the kids were a joy to talk to as was the other gentleman (I didn't catch his name). They were very knowledgeable when it came to the Park and offered me some tips that I didn't find in my books. Overall, it was a great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Gut vom Yosemite-Nationalpark zu erreichen. Preiswertes und sauberes Hotel.