Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Very convenient for Yosemite tired travelers

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very conveniently located to the South Entrance and not far from grocery drugstore and restaurants. But the AC unit was noisy and the fridge leaked water all over the floor during the night. Beds and other furniture very comfortable. Shower stall is tiny. Great view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for Yosemite half marathon

Posted May 16, 2017
I booked the hotel almost 6 months in advance so pickings were already slim for the race weekend for a reasonable price. The manager was super nice, but the single queen room was just ok. The worst part was no closet or place to hang up clothes or any dresser. I had to lay everything out and live out of my suitcase for 4 days. The lighting was terrible. The shower curtain rod kept falling down. There was no ice machine so I had to buy ice every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Views

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice hotel for couple of nights with great views across the mountains Good proximity to Yosemite as well and near to the town centre Room was a bit compact with a tiny bathroom
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

crap hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing. But it was in the closest town near our destination, Yosemite.
Cons: A bulldozer comes to mind
Location: in Oakhurst California. Near Yosemite
The room was listed for $179. Was not a room but a two bedroom house and ended up costing me $309 partly my falt for booking it too quickley since the $179 turned automatically to $309 on Expedia website. The place was nothing to brag about. Looked it was termite food. Stay away. Book at a real hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosemead,Ca

Great get away. Rustic and cozy.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Lots of space for a family of 5. Loved the home like feel. Very cozy and private. Enjoyed my stay. We were able to buy food at the local store and have dinner with my family. Nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara County, CA

Too far from the national park.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing. We left early. We did not stay for the entire reservation period.
Cons: Give value for the money.
Location: Yosemite National Park
Too expensive $400/night for a lodging in condemned state.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westlake village, CA

perfect for a one night stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: cleaner shower
Location: very close to Yosemite, need I say more...
it was a place to crash, it was in the right place at the right time for the right price. bathroom needed repairs but it functioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Good for the price

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Quiet, spacious rooms with a large shower and a kitchenette.
Cons: Maintenance. Ice machine was broken, several lamps in our room were broken or had no light bulbs.
Location: Near Yosemite.
Nowadays, the Bay Areans and Los Angelinos are flush with cash and bringing their price scales to even the remotest places, like Oakhurst. As a result, a hotel that might normally cost $69 per night anywhere else will cost $99 a night in these outposts. The Mountain Trail Lodge is such a place. It is good for the money (in light of folks coming here). The room is spacious and has quaint, attractive furniture. The buildings are nothing much to look at, and it's slightly outside of town. On the upside, the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip the cottages

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Came here to go to Yosemite with the family. The lady at the front desk was nice. Great at helping us with visuals to find the cottage. Was a little surprising to find out that the detached cottages weren't even close to the check-in spot. The cottage itself was in dire need of repairs. You could see water damage coming from the ceiling on the first floor. It was sagging and had cracks. Stairs were cracked, a couple baseboards weren't glued down, the hot water in the downstairs bathroom didn't work, cob webs were all over the place. Upstairs bathroom sink drained super slowly. The sticky part of the shower was worn away and made it look really dirty. We tried cleaning it ourselves to make sure. When we pulled out the couch mattress you could tell it had been awhile since anyone bothered to clean under the cushions. Also, they don't change the security code as we found the last person who stayed here's piece of paper with the same code on it. There's no bonfire pit to cook camping style. Then come to find out that at the end of your stay you have to take all of your trash back to the check-in office, as there is no trash can at the cottage, and if you don't they charge you $50/bag. For that price, I would have been better off staying at an actual hotel and having their cleaning service already included in the price.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Book it.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this place. Would book it again. Wifi can be annoyingly slow at night. Bathroom could use a shelf to put toiletries on. And the shower could use a suction cup soap holder. But that's ticky tacky. Been on the road for 5 months. This is by far the best inexpensive motel I've booked.