Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for Yosemite half marathon

Posted May 16, 2017
I booked the hotel almost 6 months in advance so pickings were already slim for the race weekend for a reasonable price. The manager was super nice, but the single queen room was just ok. The worst part was no closet or place to hang up clothes or any dresser. I had to lay everything out and live out of my suitcase for 4 days. The lighting was terrible. The shower curtain rod kept falling down. There was no ice machine so I had to buy ice every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Views

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice hotel for couple of nights with great views across the mountains Good proximity to Yosemite as well and near to the town centre Room was a bit compact with a tiny bathroom
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

crap hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing. But it was in the closest town near our destination, Yosemite.
Cons: A bulldozer comes to mind
Location: in Oakhurst California. Near Yosemite
The room was listed for $179. Was not a room but a two bedroom house and ended up costing me $309 partly my falt for booking it too quickley since the $179 turned automatically to $309 on Expedia website. The place was nothing to brag about. Looked it was termite food. Stay away. Book at a real hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosemead,Ca

Great get away. Rustic and cozy.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Lots of space for a family of 5. Loved the home like feel. Very cozy and private. Enjoyed my stay. We were able to buy food at the local store and have dinner with my family. Nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara County, CA

Too far from the national park.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing. We left early. We did not stay for the entire reservation period.
Cons: Give value for the money.
Location: Yosemite National Park
Too expensive $400/night for a lodging in condemned state.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westlake village, CA

perfect for a one night stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: cleaner shower
Location: very close to Yosemite, need I say more...
it was a place to crash, it was in the right place at the right time for the right price. bathroom needed repairs but it functioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Good for the price

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Quiet, spacious rooms with a large shower and a kitchenette.
Cons: Maintenance. Ice machine was broken, several lamps in our room were broken or had no light bulbs.
Location: Near Yosemite.
Nowadays, the Bay Areans and Los Angelinos are flush with cash and bringing their price scales to even the remotest places, like Oakhurst. As a result, a hotel that might normally cost $69 per night anywhere else will cost $99 a night in these outposts. The Mountain Trail Lodge is such a place. It is good for the money (in light of folks coming here). The room is spacious and has quaint, attractive furniture. The buildings are nothing much to look at, and it's slightly outside of town. On the upside, the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Hotel located on a very nice location, view is really good and rooms are well maintained and equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Hotel that feels like a vacation rental

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We stayed in the log king size room and it was perfect. I noticed the other rooms were about half the size so I'm not sure what those are like but ours had a kitchen, dinning table, couch, fireplace and big tv and bathroom. Couldn't be happier!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Theresa , Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay! This room is quite unique.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to be cleaned

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The stay was pleasant, except for the used condom box laying on the floor. The bathroom was really cold even with the heater on. The shower had pieces of used soap and dirty towels. I cleaned the bathroom before letting my kids use the bathroom.