Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Lage

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Super Lage, sehr nah an der Einfahrt zum Yosemite. Das Inn selbst ist etwas altmodisch, aber sehr gepflegt und idyllisch. Zimmer recht teuer (was an der Nähe zum Yosemite und dem Wochenende liegen dürfte), nicht super groß und komfortabel, aber für eine Nacht absolut ausreichend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England UK

Characterful Hotel Close to Yosemite

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Its charm, Scott & his Fire Engine. Great place, great people.
Cons: Air con in the rooms.
Location: Yosemite and Glacier Point Bought a black walnut tree carving from down the Road - awesome souvenir!
The Charm of this hotel cant be experienced until you get there! What a place! After a long drive from Vegas we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Scott (great guy) and nothing was too much trouble. It was a hot day and the room was scorching we had room 26 ( the air con was very old, and worked a little to reduce the heat of the room). Shame the pool was empty as it was the start of the season, would have loved a cold dip! We stayed 2 nights and will stay again when we visit Yosemite again. Ron in the restaurant was a real character and seemed genuinely interested in all we had to tell him of our 3500 mile road trip.What a fab guy to serve us our delicious dinner. One downfall, the price of the wine by the bottle available to buy from reception was expensive $54!! More reasonable wine available in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Karin from Santa Rosa, CA

Very clean, great food, great staff!

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was awesome! Very nice and thoughtful. Very dog friendly. Restaurant was delicious. Great service, great food. The place is old and charming but immaculately clean and kept up. The bathroom vanity was a better situation than most modern hotels. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

Nice Little Gettaway

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Its intimate and charming atmosphere and friendly staff.
Cons: Wish the hotel and spa were open. Also the shower needs a desperate update.
Location: Excellent location! Plenty of things to do close by. Town is not that far. A resort is just up the hill. And of course there's Yosemite!
We had to stay overnight in this area and I found this hotel last minute. I'm so glad I did! Hotel atmosphere was very pleasant and personable. It was nice to have a little intimate balcony off our room. You felt you were among the trees! The hotel staff was very nice. Dinner at the dining room was amazing!! And best of all, there was a nice breakfast the next morning. I was bummed that the pool and hot tub were closed but we drove a few miles up the hill and used the spa facilities at the nearby resort. I wish I could have stayed longer to explore more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Robert

A bit pricey

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice enough, had no air conditioning, was clean, weak on the quality of towels. The breakfast was decent
5 out of 5
by Leomar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient national park location

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint, '50s decor hotel which could use some updating. Clean, quiet, comfortable. One of the closest facilities to the park. Staff helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classical lodge-style near Yosemite

Posted May 22, 2016
A great location (about 35 miles from Yosemite Valley) in a lovely woodland setting including a forest trail. The buildings I guess are from the 1950s and rooms are comfortable but dark because of wood-panelling and dim lighting. Each has an outside seating area with great views. Breakfast was excellent; usually lasted through to dinner without a lunch. The restaurant was also excellent for dinner (although closed for winter up to early May) but if you don't want that quality (and associated price) the nearest town is Oakhurst (about 13 miles) which has a large range of restaurants. The restaurant at the nearby Tenaya Lodge is good, but no better (or cheaper) than the Narrow Gauge.
5 out of 5
by Beth from Cool

Charming Country Get Away

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay close to Yosemite. Staff was extra friendly and helpful. Complementary breakfast in the dining room is excellent.