Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Nice location but nothing else around.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Quaint setting.
Cons: Needs a serious upgrade.
Location: Close to Yosemite but nothing else.
The motel was quaint but needs a serious upgrade. The room was very stale, warm and musty when we entered and we aired it out for a couple of hours before we could relax in it. It seemed as if it had been closed up for a month before we got there. For the price (the most expensive room we had during a 10 day, 6 different stays) it was quite disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Kind Regards, Marlo, Hotel Management
We do thank you for your review, we shall look into your comments so to better the next guests stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo beach

Inn the woods

Posted Apr 26, 2017
A very nice place to stay close to Yosemite. Charming and historic with lots of railroad artifacts and decorations. Nice and quiet. It not too far from Oakhurst if you need Togo to town. Great free breakfast in the restaurant but sorry it is not open yet for dinner. Nice trails and welcoming gift for dogs. The room was nice with a porch to sit and enjoy he woodland scenery. I wish the pool was open when I stayed but that is understandable given the season. Ice is available but a small in room fridge would have been welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

perfect getaway

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location, room, free breakfast.
Beautiful, cozy room. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Character, age, style, atmosphere.
Location: Just a little south of the Yosemite entrance. Oakhurst is 20 minutes away and has good supermarkets and food.
We stayed here for one night early February on our way to Yosemite Valley. Really nice place on what seemed to be a quieter way into the park. Found the staff really helpful and friendly. They kept the snow clear so moving around the parking lot was easy. Breakfast was fine and included in the price. Really happy overall and would stay again. The whole place looked like it belonged to another age but that is part of the charm. Couldn't ask for more for this sort of thing - all you need is a bottle of red wine, some good cheese and a book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. We do appreciate it. We are very pleased to know your time here was treasured. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Lynda

Reunion

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem of a hotel ! Beautiful setting , spacious rooms . Pet friendly , great staff !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed back. So happy to know you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Cute and cozy place to stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is located 15 minutes from Oakhurst and a little less to the Yosemite entrance. Our room was a smaller, but very cute room with some nice decorations and our own back porch. They offered a complimentary warm breakfast, which was good and allow pets. The only knock on the place is that the walls are very thin so when your next door neighbor gets up at 6 am on Sunday morning, you are probably going to be getting up too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, great buffet, but slightly dated rooms, linens could use updating, and walls are paper thin, so be aware if you have neighboring guests in the room next to you! A little isolated in terms of amenities but fairly close to Wawona entrance to Yosemite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mission viejo ca

If awsome, prestigious , breathtaking ,historical

Posted Jan 10, 2017
If those words could be wrapped up in one that would describe this place my wife and I stayed before at the upscale way to over priced tanaya lodge before but this cozy cabin style blew it out of the water by far .. narrow lodge will a reminder for me until my last days ... thank you narrow gauge inn
5 out of 5
by Eloise

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
The inn was as described in the better reviews and very good. Decent sized room, good breakfast, great location. The only issue was a dog at the other end of the corridor that really liked to bark, but just the one event.