Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quaint and homely (and close to the park!)

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: It's style, quaintness, homeliness, and location.
Cons: Better air-con and a bigger breakfast selection please!
Location: Ideal - Yosemite is 4 miles away, Bass Lake is 10 miles away, the nearest town about the same. Perfectly placed!
The Narrow Gauge Inn is extremely close to Yosemite's south entry, so is ideally placed. It is a lovely little place; small, homely and cute. The rooms are smaller than average and a tiny bit dated, but perfectly fine and very clean. The staff are great and the restaurant is superbly decorated (although breakfast, whilst nice, is limited in choice). Most important, it is very quiet and peaceful - ideal after a hard day in the woods! Would I stay again? Hell yes! Coincidentally, my friend and his family stayed at a much bigger Tanaya Lodge up the road - more expensive, much bigger and no soul! Stay at the Narrow Gauge!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from España

No cumple criterios mínimos

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: El camión de bomberos que hay a la entrada y el tren histórico cercano. Pueden verse sin alojarse en el hotel.
El hotel está a 1:30h de Yosemite Valley, y a 20 min de la entrada del Parque. O sea, más lejos de lo que se anuncia. Las habitaciones tienen la zona de café en el aseo (???). Inaceptable. Además, no hay espacio para las maletas, ni frigorífico. El peor hotel de todos los que he estado y no precisamente barato. El desayuno escaso y de mala calidad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DC

ロードサイドでもリゾート感のあるロッジ

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: 立地、朝食のおねえさんのさわやかさ。
Cons: レイトチェックインの案内。(英語が不得意な日本人には戸惑うかもしれません)
Location: ヨセミテビレッジから車で約1時間、グレーシャーポイントへ行く途中の道からさらに南下します。 周りは何もないところから突然施設が現れるので、ヨセミテ側から下ってくる場合は見落として通りるぎる可能性があります。ナビで目的地周辺と案内されたら、左側を注視してください。(道路から少し下ります)
ヨセミテ国立公園の帰りに寄ったので、チェックインは10時頃でした。フロント(のある建物の入り口)はすでに閉まっていて(中に人はいましたが、ノックしても開けてもらえませんでした)、入り口脇にある電話で2マイル先の別のロッジ?にかけると、暗証番号を口頭で伝えられ、隣のセーフティーボックスを開けると、その中に鍵が入っていました。 部屋そのものは広くはないもののきれいに整っており、満足できるものでした。 施設すぐ近くには観光蒸気機関車が走っているようでしたが、私は行かなかったのでよくわかりません。 朝食は、建物隣接のレストランで、簡単なバッフェのほか、ソーセージやワッフルをオーダーできます(無料)。 ヨセミテ周辺のホテルはどこも高く、すぐに埋まってしまいますが、ビレッジから1時間ほどのこのロッジは、それほど高くもなく、値段相応の設備かと思います。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice service but the room is stuffy in summer

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location, service
Cons: Better air circulation system.
Location: Sugar pine Train , Glacier point and Yosemite Valley.
The staffs are very nice. However, there is no air conditioner and good air circulation in the room. We lived there in July and the day temperature was around 85. The room was so stuffy and I couldn't sleep until midnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location far enough into the park...

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Character
Cons: It a little dated, pillows and decent water pressure In the shower,
Location: Sugar pine train next door, try the moonlight express!
Excellent. Location, cute inn just far enough into the park without getting stuck in the big traffic queues of Yosemite village etc. Located next the the sugar pine railroad ( a must !) it's a simple accommodation but with great charm. The food is excellent, traditional regional but great care is taken. Rooms are dated, even throwback but charming in themselves with nice balconies. Pillows are poor though to the point of bring your own ! Compared to a lot of the park properties though,stay here and enjoy - it's good value and it was a nice break for us from the bland four star stuff... Ps the fire engine is real and yes it does turn out each day for photos at least...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Don't stay here...overpriced and underwhelming

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: Updates, fixes and attitude. Lower prices in the restaurant.
Location: Yosemite Park is very close and you almost feel that you are still in the park.
Checked in and could not get in at 2PM..oh well, but came back later and got the room. Small and old. Broken ceiling fan that was LOUD and shaky. Sleepless nights as a result. Reported the problem with no fix or even an update on trying to fix it. Restaurant was WAY overpriced and service was bad. Forgot our appetizer...rude greeter...waited 10 minutes to even get a drink order in! Go some place else. When looking to remedy the situation, they simply told me that they would "let the manager know". I travel a lot and have never felt so frustrated with problems like this and, more importantly, the way that they issues were NOT handled while we there. They did offer to let us change rooms on our last night at about 7PM...but who wants to pack up...move...and unpack when we are checking out the next day? Just ridiculous and I feel bad for them since it seems like this hotel has some good potential. I gave them a chance to make things right, but no luck. If you go...take your chances and I hope you have better luck. Or my recommendation is to stay somewhere else. BTW...pool and hot tub are a joke.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF bay area

Close enough to Yosemite to be worth the drive

Posted Jun 14, 2015
We found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and helpful. We were offered an upgraded room at no added cost when I asked about the amenities in the room I had reserved. It was right next to the office. Had a large private balcony which we sat out on during a rain storm. Only problem was that every noise from the office was heard in our room; as was the popcorn that they were popping. Thankfully the office closed at 10:00 so we were able to get some good sleep. We had dinner at the attached restaurant. The Elk Steak was very good. I asked the waiter to ask the chef if it was possible to not have the horseradish sauce that came with the dish; but to change the sauce to any other of the sauces that the chef had for other meat dishes. He prepared a wonderful red wine reduction with mushrooms that complimented the elk quite well. My bride had the Prime Rib which she very much enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suzhou Jiangsu

very quiet hotel near Yosemite west entrance

Posted Jun 2, 2015
2 nights stay at this hotel :very warm staffs and good breakfast. If we go to Yosemite next time,this hotel will be the first chioce.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hübsches Hotel an highway 41, Fish Camp

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Lage und Ausblick
Location: Highway 41, kurz vor der Eingang zum Yosemite Park
Hotel in ruhiger schöner Lage, allerdings 1 Stunde Fahrzeit von Yosemite Village entfernt, Hotelzimmer teilweise sehr laut insbesondere Zimmer 33 - 38, Frühstück sehr einseitig, kein Spielraum für Zusatzbestellungen, teilweise chaotische Aufstellung (je nach Service-Personal), sehr gute Qualität im Restaurant allerdings sehr gehobenes Preisniveau,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels