Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mission viejo ca

If awsome, prestigious , breathtaking ,historical

Posted Jan 10, 2017
If those words could be wrapped up in one that would describe this place my wife and I stayed before at the upscale way to over priced tanaya lodge before but this cozy cabin style blew it out of the water by far .. narrow lodge will a reminder for me until my last days ... thank you narrow gauge inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This place is charming and full of history.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
My only complaint was the Horrible mattress . All else was charming and great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, NY

Amazing Inn !

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: This was such a charming inn, very rustic & woodsy which is what myself as a New Yorker was going for!! The room was spacious and very comfortable, and even smelled clean upon opening the door. And the free breakfast was a huge plus, and it was good too!
Cons: The only thing I did not like was that the hotel restaurant (which I heard is excellent) was closed for the season. I think they are only open in the spring/summer into early fall ?
Location: Location was great for driving to Yosemite, and the restaurants in Oakhurst are about a 15-20 min drive down the mountain
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Rooms updatirs have some road noise

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Great staff and restaurant. Our checkin was smooth and the staff was helpful. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent.
Cons: Road noise and paper thin walls made for some noise that woke us up at 6am with our next door room having a spat plus road traffic got busy
Location: Picturesque location - close to Tenaya Lodge - Walking distance to railroad - close to Yosemite gate (yet it takes an hour plus to reach the valley).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palatine, IL.

A surprisingly comfy, cozy, hideaway.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location near an entrance to Yosemite. The complimentary breakfast. The amazing ambiance and quaintness.
Cons: The hotel does have a restaurant but it is only open for dinner Thursday - Sunday. The nearest town is 20 minutes away to eat at.
Location: The two main things near there are the Yosemite National Park and Sugar Pine Railroad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Nice place, good location, staff is very nice. The breakfast is good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Location great!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The area around the hotel was very nice. Room was decently clean. Relatively close to Yosemite entrance.
Cons: Better amentities - higher toilet paper quality, hair conditioner, shower cap, q-tips. Air conditioner was under powered.
Location: Yosemite National Park
The location is awesome. It is within a few miles of the entrance to Yosemite but keep in mind that once you are in the park, it still takes over an hour to reach the Valley or Glacier Point so if you really want the Yosemite experience, it may be better if you got a campsite or a room at the lodge inside the park. The room was relatively clean although it had a slight musty odor. I feel like there could have been slightly better amenities given the cost (but I'm sure the higher price is due to the relative distance to Yosemite) such as nicer toilet paper, hair conditioner, shower cap, etc. The room air conditioner was quite loud and wasn't always keeping up with the heat. WIFI was decent and easy to use. The grounds were nice to walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice place close to Yosemite

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Room was big with comfortable king sized bed. Bathroom was clean. Included breakfast was good and very convenient.
Cons: A mini fridge would have been useful. We brought some food to take with us for the hikes/picnics in Yosemite. Fortunately they were dried stuff.
Location: 10 minutes to the gate and 1 hour from Yosemite Valley/Glacier Point. No Groceries nearby. Only a couple of expensive restaurants nearby.
Checked in late. Was a little hard to find. About 10 minutes to the gate. 1 hour from Yosemite Valley. Not a lot of places to eat nearby. No groceries/shops nearby. Fortunately we bought some supplies to take with us for hiking and picnics before arriving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We had a very nice stay. It was close to Yosemite and the food was excellent..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

near south entrance to Yosemite

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: beautiful woodwork, clean water, balcony overlooking the forest, great restaurant, and the best complimentary breakfast ever.
Cons: it was really hot, and the room did not have air conditioning
Location: Yosemite
had a great time, check in went smooth, no surprises. Check out Knuckles, the cat with extra digits on her paws