Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Poor Customer Service Experiences

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Location: It is located within a one hour drive of Yosemite National Park
The Inn is able to take financial advantage of its proximity to Yosemite and the lack of accommodation in the immediate area. In hindsight, Oakhurst is a cheaper option, albeit adding 20 minutes to the journey to Yosemite. Other reviewers have described the Inn as ‘quaint’ but in my view, it is ‘tired’ and some refurbishment is due. The breakfasts were satisfactory but lacking in variety. Customer Service standards were at best, poor: At check-in, the Receptionist broke off to engage with others. At the end, I felt ‘dismissed’. At check-out, the process seemed troublesome for the Receptionist and again, at the end, I felt dismissed. Following departure, I discovered I had left an item in the room. I took the initiative to contact them by telephone to claim it and organise its return. They were resistant to my proposal that they post it and recover the cost from the reserve held against my credit card, rather, they focused on “we will send an email with a link to instructions”. This email, an automated Lost & Found Service, was sent 5 days later but was a lost property claim only. This was promptly completed and responded to with a ‘found’ message and options for return. The automated service stalled at this point. I emailed the Inn every day for several days and was ignored. When contact was finally established, I was offered a shipping option at $80. I countered with a USPS option at $13 but the Inn will action return at $80 only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some TLC

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: All rooms need to be refurbished with new linens, curtains, carpet.
Location: Yosemite is a short 9-10 miles from this hotel
The Narrow Gauge Hotel is in a great location if you are going into Yosemite. This was my first time staying in this hotel and I would not recommend it. The rooms are very outdated and smell of mildew, former cigarette smoke and not being aired out. For the cost I would expect a little more TLC in this facility. The staff were all very pleasant as was the hot breakfast offered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Expensive for what it is

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Cons: breakfast, upgrade the rooms
This hotel may be nice during the touristic season. We stayed there on May 29th and the swimming pool was closed as well as the Jacuzzi. We chose to pay more for this hotel because of the Jacuzzi ... The bedroom is old style (may be typical but we could feel the hot water going in the shower pipe through the shower tiles). The bed was comfortable but noisy when moving in it. Breakfast was only eggs, bacon , bagels, and industrial oatmeal. For the price ($287 for 1 night), we were expecting a better service and food. Sure it is close to Yosemite south gate but going back I would choose another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Nice location but nothing else around.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Quaint setting.
Cons: Needs a serious upgrade.
Location: Close to Yosemite but nothing else.
The motel was quaint but needs a serious upgrade. The room was very stale, warm and musty when we entered and we aired it out for a couple of hours before we could relax in it. It seemed as if it had been closed up for a month before we got there. For the price (the most expensive room we had during a 10 day, 6 different stays) it was quite disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Kind Regards, Marlo, Hotel Management
We do thank you for your review, we shall look into your comments so to better the next guests stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo beach

Inn the woods

Posted Apr 26, 2017
A very nice place to stay close to Yosemite. Charming and historic with lots of railroad artifacts and decorations. Nice and quiet. It not too far from Oakhurst if you need Togo to town. Great free breakfast in the restaurant but sorry it is not open yet for dinner. Nice trails and welcoming gift for dogs. The room was nice with a porch to sit and enjoy he woodland scenery. I wish the pool was open when I stayed but that is understandable given the season. Ice is available but a small in room fridge would have been welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

perfect getaway

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location, room, free breakfast.
Beautiful, cozy room. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by carol

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room a bit dated, but charming; setting absolutely stunning; delicious breakfast with white linens in beautiful, historic breakfast room - would definitely return
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed the Narrow Gauge Inn. Its charm is still shinning through, since 1952. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Jessie

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Maria

amazing place

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
they have the better service very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by Dorothy

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. Hope to see you again.