Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Location great!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The area around the hotel was very nice. Room was decently clean. Relatively close to Yosemite entrance.
Cons: Better amentities - higher toilet paper quality, hair conditioner, shower cap, q-tips. Air conditioner was under powered.
Location: Yosemite National Park
The location is awesome. It is within a few miles of the entrance to Yosemite but keep in mind that once you are in the park, it still takes over an hour to reach the Valley or Glacier Point so if you really want the Yosemite experience, it may be better if you got a campsite or a room at the lodge inside the park. The room was relatively clean although it had a slight musty odor. I feel like there could have been slightly better amenities given the cost (but I'm sure the higher price is due to the relative distance to Yosemite) such as nicer toilet paper, hair conditioner, shower cap, etc. The room air conditioner was quite loud and wasn't always keeping up with the heat. WIFI was decent and easy to use. The grounds were nice to walk around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

森林鉄道の最寄ホテル

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: 食事がおいしい。従業員だれもが愛想よく、サービスレベルが高い。
Location: 森林鉄道とヨセミテ国立公園
ナローゲージとは鉄道の線路幅が狭い、つまり狭軌の意味です。ヨセミテシュガーパイン鉄道の保存列車が走っており、駅まで徒歩2分です。 ヨセミテ国立公園の入り口で、公園観光の前にSLに乗るのは楽しい趣向と思います。 食事がとてもおいしく、それだけでもお勧めします。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice place close to Yosemite

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Room was big with comfortable king sized bed. Bathroom was clean. Included breakfast was good and very convenient.
Cons: A mini fridge would have been useful. We brought some food to take with us for the hikes/picnics in Yosemite. Fortunately they were dried stuff.
Location: 10 minutes to the gate and 1 hour from Yosemite Valley/Glacier Point. No Groceries nearby. Only a couple of expensive restaurants nearby.
Checked in late. Was a little hard to find. About 10 minutes to the gate. 1 hour from Yosemite Valley. Not a lot of places to eat nearby. No groceries/shops nearby. Fortunately we bought some supplies to take with us for hiking and picnics before arriving.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We had a very nice stay. It was close to Yosemite and the food was excellent..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont

near south entrance to Yosemite

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: beautiful woodwork, clean water, balcony overlooking the forest, great restaurant, and the best complimentary breakfast ever.
Cons: it was really hot, and the room did not have air conditioning
Location: Yosemite
had a great time, check in went smooth, no surprises. Check out Knuckles, the cat with extra digits on her paws
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rustic hotel near Yosemite

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The restaurant has a charming atmosphere and good food.The rooms are rustic but cute. There is a fan, but no air-conditioning. The pillows were foam and uncomfortable. The beds were very comfortable. There is a delicious morning breakfast included. The overall atmosphere is rustic mountain charm with and antique fire engine garaged on site.It was a bit of a distance from the park- 30 minutes to the entrance and if you want to take sunrise or sunset pictures it is better to stay at hotels in the park. Quite expensive for what it is.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Friendly, comfortable Inn, great restaurant

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Well appointed Inn, friendly staff, good breakfast included.
Cons: If possible, the road signs indicating the location of the hotel could be set further back from the entrances, to give drivers more warning.
Location: Well placed for Yosemite National Park, Sierra National Forest, Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad
I stayed at the Narrow Gauge Inn during a recent trip to Yosemite National Park. The Inn has a lovely location, surrounded by forest on Hwy 41, a few miles outside Fish Camp and well placed for the Wawona entrance to the park. The rooms are arranged in two rows at different levels on the hillside, but the Inn offers many more touches of character than any regular motel - such as the garage housing a beautifully maintained classic fire truck, and a charming nature trail through the arch entitled "Marty's Garden". If you're a fan of steam railway its worth knowing the Inn offers a voucher for the neighboring Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine railroad. The room was very comfortable, with a large bed, private shower-room and all the amenities that you'd expect, including a private balcony overlooking the forest. There's plenty of parking, and the area was very quiet at night. The Inn includes an excellent restaurant in hunting-lodge style, which serves a substantial hot breakfast buffet (included in my room rate) each morning, and extremely good modern American cuisine for dinner - it's well worth stopping by for dinner. I have to say though, that the staff will stand out in my memory for being sincerely friendly and genuine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Lage

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Super Lage, sehr nah an der Einfahrt zum Yosemite. Das Inn selbst ist etwas altmodisch, aber sehr gepflegt und idyllisch. Zimmer recht teuer (was an der Nähe zum Yosemite und dem Wochenende liegen dürfte), nicht super groß und komfortabel, aber für eine Nacht absolut ausreichend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England UK

Characterful Hotel Close to Yosemite

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Its charm, Scott & his Fire Engine. Great place, great people.
Cons: Air con in the rooms.
Location: Yosemite and Glacier Point Bought a black walnut tree carving from down the Road - awesome souvenir!
The Charm of this hotel cant be experienced until you get there! What a place! After a long drive from Vegas we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Scott (great guy) and nothing was too much trouble. It was a hot day and the room was scorching we had room 26 ( the air con was very old, and worked a little to reduce the heat of the room). Shame the pool was empty as it was the start of the season, would have loved a cold dip! We stayed 2 nights and will stay again when we visit Yosemite again. Ron in the restaurant was a real character and seemed genuinely interested in all we had to tell him of our 3500 mile road trip.What a fab guy to serve us our delicious dinner. One downfall, the price of the wine by the bottle available to buy from reception was expensive $54!! More reasonable wine available in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Karin from Santa Rosa, CA

Very clean, great food, great staff!

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was awesome! Very nice and thoughtful. Very dog friendly. Restaurant was delicious. Great service, great food. The place is old and charming but immaculately clean and kept up. The bathroom vanity was a better situation than most modern hotels. Highly recommend.