Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good but needs a better shower curtain

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Price and location were great. Right near downtown Sonora.
Cons: Shower curtain did not work properly. Bathroom could have been nicer.
Location: Great location near hold country,Yosemite, angels camp etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very fair hotel - excellent location - sweet staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: I thought it was all around solid.
Cons: The rooms we stayed kind of smelled like smoke like once they were used as smoking rooms - maybe a thorough steam cleaning could help.
Location: right in town - walking distance to everything, great little food/drink spots. The antiques stores were adorable and local coffee shop has free refill
My family had a very good experience at this hotel. The location is wonderful, very pet friendly and the staff was sweet, friendly and very attentive, in fact, we saw the manager out in town and he offered to buy us a beer! The rooms were clean and the next morning he had a nice breakfast spread that was always being refilled for our convenience. I would definitely go again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing spectacular

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Fumigation.
Location: Columbia State Park is near by.
This place could have been better if I did not see roaches on the wall. Other than that the room was fine. It had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel in old town sonora

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Staff was good.
Cons: Bathrooms need major overhaul.
Location: Away from main part of sonora.
Too expensive for a run down motel! Continental breakfast was a joke. Very little parking area and not enough to accommodate both the sonora Inn and Rodeway motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Great hotel at the price in the heart of downtown

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel is old but decent and clean with basic amenities needed to stay.
Cons: The breakfast is OK. A waffle, cereal and oatmeal will make it great.
Location: one hour from ski resort, lots of restaurants within walking distance, nearby church, grocery and big box store short drive
The resident manager is very accommodating and very professional. The check-in was quick and easy. Parking is enough and there's an overflow parking nearby. The room is clean and has decent amenities. Free breakfast, too. i stay here for a weekend skiing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, smelly room and small pillows

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Good central location and good tips on restaurants. Room was smelly and stuffy, no AC. Beds were uncomfortable and pillows are half the size (small square). I couldnt fall asleep untill 2am. My friend was so tired that he fell asleep immediately but woke up at 4am, tried opening all windows and could not go back to sleep. Towels are very small two.. though not surprising for a motel, at least they were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif.

Good location for walking the shops on old down.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Was clean and in good shape with a great location just off main down town shops. The manager seemed professional and courteous. There's no great view from hotel or anything, but we weren't there for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to downtown Sonora

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Good location close to downtown Sonora and other planned events.
Cons: Office closed early which required checking in at Sonoma Inn across the street. There was also no available parking in the main hotel lot.
This was a nice hotel close to downtown Sonora that was a backup plan for my preferred hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. The rate was a bit high given the quality of the room and facility but acceptable overall.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast, CA

Okay but a Little Disappointing

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Registration staff at other hotel, parking availability, water pressure, and air conditioning.
Cons: Open office on premises; replace the mattress; improve the bathroom; raise the tv; and add some sound-proofing.
Location: It is easy to find and convenient for driving to other little towns and wineries in the area. It is also convenient to restaurants and shops in town.
We mostly picked this place due to the price and location, as we knew it was in driving distance to our main interest (in Jamestown) and within walking distance of restaurants, shops, etc. We had no trouble finding parking but were surprised that the office was closed with a sign directing us to register at another location (but within easy walking distance). The staff members at that location (a nearby hotel) were very pleasant and helpful. They gave us a coupon for a handful of local restaurants, which was great because we had already decided to eat dinner at one of them. Both check-in and check-out were quick, easy, and pleasant. Our room, however, was a little disappointing. Although it appeared that the room had been redecorated or painted recently, the bed was worn out (springs broken down on sides and could feel & hear the springs through the bedding). The television also needed to be raised at least a foot to be viewed from the bed. We did appreciate that the air conditioner worked well and helped drown out some of the noise from traffic and other guests. When remodeling they skipped the bathroom, which had old flooring and tile (with dirty grout). The water pressure was fine but the towels were like sand paper. This place is okay for a place to sleep and shower, but I'd be reluctant to recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Unsanitary

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: New toilets to prevent disease. This is not profane and possibly dangerous
The hotel was renovated and clean with a comfortable bed. I didn't feel springs in the mattress. My experience with the staff was mostly pleasant. They seemed to want to sweep right outside of our window a lot which was not respectful of our privacy. This seemed more like a campground experience. The hygiene in the toilet was abysmal. When sitting on the toilet the water reached my privates and I couldn't go number two because it wouldn't have been safe environmentally. I think that there must be a health code to protect men from infectious disease transmitted in such a way. If offensive, then don't go to this hotel or expect a bidet style washing.