Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK FOR SOLO TRAVELER ON A BUDGET

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: COVERED PARKING....KEPT SNOW OFF AUTO AND FROM FROZEN WIPERS/DOORS
Cons: NEW CARPET
Location: IT'S MAMMOTH LAKES! HIKING, SNOWBOARDING, SHOPPING, DINING....
CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, EASY ACCESS TO FREEWAY, MAIN ROAD, GAS STATION, STORES. UNDERGROUND PARKING GOOD FOR KEEPING AUTOS OUT OF SNOW/WEATHER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Tucked away but close to everything

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We were only coming up for one day of skiing and an overnight and thought we'd give Shilo Inn a try. Though it's tucked back a bit, it wasn't hard to find.....despite the 30 foot snow banks all around. Check-in was pleasant and painless. The room was very spacious and included a microwave and small refrigerator. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to try the free breakfast the next morning due to the weather conditions. It was snowing and blowing so hard we decided to pack up quick and get out of town before chains were required. As soon as we got home I booked two more nights at this hotel as we're planning another ski trip in three weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Very comfortable

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Absolutely no problems big clean rooms and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from thousand oaks ,ca

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bath rooms , fossetdont operate shower fossets are broken etc.
Location: Shopping ,restaurants.
I used to like that hotel it it is very run down ,,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula Area

Fair rates, close to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: It was close to everything.
Cons: This hotel has not been updated in over 15 years or more. Very outdated and not maintained. CLEAN THE POOL!!
Location: It was close to everything.
Upon arrival, wall facing the street was patched (6ftx 12ft) just the wood no siding. I booked for indoor pool, for my youngest. Online it was beautiful, upon arrival...green and un-maintained pool. The elevator had panels that were loose. Upon entry in the room, stuff stuck on headboard. We tried to turn on the TV, found an extension cord around the wall. One half of the room was not working, all outlets were out. We had to unplug computers, ipads and phones to watch TV. The breakfast area was never cleaned up well. During checkout, I mentioned the extension cord and lack of outlet use. I was told they never hand out extension cords. She said someone must have brought it in....NO! It was behind furniture and if I bought one, I would not leave it for anyone. She only told me to have a good day, did not try to rectify any issues, and said she would call maintenance. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The place is dated. It hasn't changed in twenty years. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, it's your place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not coordinated with Expedia

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We didn't stay here. After a 7 hour drve it turned out expedia overbooked by 300 so didn't honor our reservations. We re booked in Bishop. Never got notified by expedia or Shilo Inn on mess up. Was not impressed with hotel as they had our contact number but never attempted contact, almist ruined this vacation. Poor customer support and service by Shilo Inn and Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The hotel had no record of our reservation, but when we showed them the confirmation email from Expedia they gave us a room anyway. We were lucky because it was a holiday weekend and all the hotels in Mammoth were booked. Still don't understand what caused the disconnect between Expedia and the hotel, but everything worked out fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Good location. reasonable rate. Shows wear and tear. Internet in lobby not working. Looked like it had been down for some time. Should not advertise computer if it's not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Perfect location.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Staff was very helpful and kind. It's very clean and quiet. it has the best location. we walked everywhere for dinner, shops and cafes. the bus picks you up and drops you off outside for a free ride to the mountain. no need to worry about parking. great hotel, we highly recommend and definitely will come back.