Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: heart of downtown
Cons: nothing everything was great
Location: great being in a small downtown area restaurants and shopping
we stayed thanksgiving eve the hotel is nice and clean and close to everything downtown ate at emberz across the street great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

bwautiul historic hotel in downtown Sonora

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The history of the hotel and the architecture, the beds are comfy
Cons: Walls are very thin, we could hear our neighbors through the locked ajoining door until after Midnight and also could hear the people in the street very late at night. Old Hotel, old windows and walls, it's going to happen.
Location: The hotel is right on the Main Street in downtown Sonora. You can walk to shop, eat or enjoy the history of the town. The bourbon barrel is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tahoe

Friendly, Comfortable and Accommodating.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: I liked almost everything about this hotel
Cons: clean the carpets and improve the freshness of the breakfast foods
Location: great central location right on the main street with lots to do and nice restaurants right there. A playhouse half a block away. Shopping and pubs.
My husband and I spent the weekend here and had a lovely time. We did have to ask for a room farther away from the main street and the lobby as the first room they offered us sounded like it was attached to a freeway and also had rather noisy people audible through the walls. The staff was very friendly and immediately found us a quiet room which was very large and comfortable. The bed was very nice. The hotel room was overall very clean but had a big stain on the bedspread and the carpets were very dirty throughout the hotel, especially on the stairs and hallways. The maid service was very good. It's a very good-looking hotel in itself, very tasteful but with these little details that spoil it a bit. it just needs the carpets cleaned and maybe get rid of some tacky decorations and it would be splendid. We still loved it and plan to go back! The best part was the staff who were so friendly and nice to deal with, actual coffee pots, huge bathtubs, great location, really fantastic historic elevator and the nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The only inconvenience was that the elevator was out of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Benicia, CA

Nice overnighter

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Not too far from Yosemite, where we had spent the day.
Location: Takes about 2 hours to get to the Yosemite Valley from Sonora.
The Sonora Inn is a charming place. The elevator was adorable, the free breakfast was perfect (waffles, danishes, fruit, juice, toast), those working at the reception desk were very nice. The room was small but adequate for the three of us, the room was nicely appointed, beds were comfortable, shower was hot--all very good for about $100 for the night. We would do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Great hotel as Overnight stop to or from Yosemite

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable,peaceful despite being on a busy junction
Cons: The lift was out of order so hauling cases up and down stairs difficult. There was no offer of help by staff
Location: Good stop off place before/after a trip to Yosemite. Much cheaper than hotels closer to the Park
This hotel was a lovely surprise on route to Yosemite. Very reasonably priced and extremely comfortable clean room. Breakfast was plentiful and good choice available. The town has some good eating places too would recommend the Diamondback for good food and service. I would recommend this as a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jun 6, 2016
We hawe had a pleasant stay, and plan to book on our next visit to the area as long as the prices remain affordable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Classic older hotel. Right in downtown Sonora. Friendly staff, cool elevator, picturesque rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Bay CA

Historic hotel right in downtown

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Liked the old look and feel of the place. Liked how quiet it was, especially considering its central location.
Cons: Torn vinyl in bathroom. Worn shower head. Loose toilet seat. Poor quality tissue and toilet paper.
Location: Easy to walk all over downtown and beyond from this hotel. Good trail system nearby.
We stayed at The Sonora Inn for two nights. We were assigned a room on the second floor, and our first adventure was using the old elevator. It's the kind with the pullback screen. You have to open a heavy door, then pull open the screen, in order to enter. Quite a trick with an armful of belongings and a suitcase. But it's doable, especially with more than one person. And it's part of the historic feel of the place. The elevator itself works great, by the way. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Especially liked the quiet dining room at breakfast. No canned music, no blaring TV, and fellow guests who seemed to appreciate the quiet as much as we did. Good firm bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkeley ca

Noisy because of construction

Posted May 13, 2016
Good location old fashioned hotel. Good value. Construction on street was noise ridden