Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benicia, CA

Nice overnighter

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Not too far from Yosemite, where we had spent the day.
Location: Takes about 2 hours to get to the Yosemite Valley from Sonora.
The Sonora Inn is a charming place. The elevator was adorable, the free breakfast was perfect (waffles, danishes, fruit, juice, toast), those working at the reception desk were very nice. The room was small but adequate for the three of us, the room was nicely appointed, beds were comfortable, shower was hot--all very good for about $100 for the night. We would do it again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Great hotel as Overnight stop to or from Yosemite

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable,peaceful despite being on a busy junction
Cons: The lift was out of order so hauling cases up and down stairs difficult. There was no offer of help by staff
Location: Good stop off place before/after a trip to Yosemite. Much cheaper than hotels closer to the Park
This hotel was a lovely surprise on route to Yosemite. Very reasonably priced and extremely comfortable clean room. Breakfast was plentiful and good choice available. The town has some good eating places too would recommend the Diamondback for good food and service. I would recommend this as a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jun 6, 2016
We hawe had a pleasant stay, and plan to book on our next visit to the area as long as the prices remain affordable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Classic older hotel. Right in downtown Sonora. Friendly staff, cool elevator, picturesque rooms.
3 out of 5
by Elin from Boston

Good for yosemite

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Clean. Ok breakfast. Good parking. Good size bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

历史悠久,尚可

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
年代久远的建筑,120年历史,但房间内设施同样陈旧,房间很小,地理位置很好,临街很吵,晚11点后稍好。门口就有中餐和泰餐,还有几家小酒吧
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay CA

Historic hotel right in downtown

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Liked the old look and feel of the place. Liked how quiet it was, especially considering its central location.
Cons: Torn vinyl in bathroom. Worn shower head. Loose toilet seat. Poor quality tissue and toilet paper.
Location: Easy to walk all over downtown and beyond from this hotel. Good trail system nearby.
We stayed at The Sonora Inn for two nights. We were assigned a room on the second floor, and our first adventure was using the old elevator. It's the kind with the pullback screen. You have to open a heavy door, then pull open the screen, in order to enter. Quite a trick with an armful of belongings and a suitcase. But it's doable, especially with more than one person. And it's part of the historic feel of the place. The elevator itself works great, by the way. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Especially liked the quiet dining room at breakfast. No canned music, no blaring TV, and fellow guests who seemed to appreciate the quiet as much as we did. Good firm bed.
5 out of 5
by Amber from Patterson

Sonora Inn

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
It was very nice. They provided great service. We loved the old time elevator, atmosphere, and room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berkeley ca

Noisy because of construction

Posted May 13, 2016
Good location old fashioned hotel. Good value. Construction on street was noise ridden
5 out of 5
by joey from Vallejo

Older luxury hotel at a bargain price

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with comfortable bed. Smaller bathroom but very well designed. Only bad thing is the hotel shares parking lot with Roadway Inn and I have a feeling finding a parking spot could be a pain in the summer