Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic cabin in an amazing setting

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Almost everything but especially the locale and the rustic spirit.
Cons: Snow and ice made the walkways difficult to navigate. A gutter over the doorway to the cabin would prevent the black ice right outside the door!
Location: So many things if you like to be outside - hiking, Nordic and alpine skiing, snowshoeing, bicycling - both mountain and road.
We loved Tamarack! Stayed in a studio cabin. The small kitchen was great, the bed very comfortable, the woodstove easy to use. Talk about cozy, rustic atmosphere! Right outside the door got on the bike path and hiked up to Horseshoe Lake. The staff at Tamarack were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is simple but good.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athanes, Greece

Twin lakes cabin

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
We've only stayed there one night but the accommodation is beautiful and the location was awesome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The cabin was very nice and quite comfortable but the bathroom could be larger. The location provides grounds for several activities in the area.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Real cabiny experience

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Good: location, cleanliness, access to fishing and bike trails, quiet at night. Bad: stayed three days and never got vacuumed, rusty hot water (see "cabiny" above) super tiny studio. Restaurant not all that, salty food for gourmet prices.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place to stay for fall colors!

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Right across the road from Twin Lakes with access to fish, hike or photograph.
Cons: As I said before, more bathrooms would be good, but not a deal breaker for us😃
Location: Hike, fish, photography, bird watching, kayaking, you name it!
Great staff, nice rooms, awesome location! No issues with service or cleanliness. Sharing one bathroom between multiple rooms may be an issue for some (timing). We would stay there again!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

A very special spot

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Great location, cute historic hotel, if you stay in the lodge it's pretty close quarters and you can hear what's going on in all the rooms around you but apart from that it's a great lodge in a fantastic location next to the lake. It was more than we expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cobourg, Canada


Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The lake - but I could have driven by it on the way to somewhere clean and well maintained. I paid the price if an airline ticket to stay here for 2 d
Cons: Tear down and start again.
Location: Go to the Devil's Postpile and Schatt's Bakery.
Pictures shown of rooms and lobby must be photo shopped. There was nothing close to the 'ambience' shown in the photos. The carpeting was stained and so worn out I didn't want to walk in the room without my shoes. The room was only Just big enough to accommodate a double bed and a very dinky bedside table. One lamp to read by and in the bathroom the sink was knee high and toilet was child height. The whole room went 'downhill' about 6 in. This hotel was So overpriced that the words used by others such as 'quaint' or 'rustic' are really a lie. The whole building is 'crooked' with wiring from the 1940s. By the way the hole resort fee includes a swimming pool and gym that is located at another resort about 2 miles away. So handy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Tamarack lodge

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Beautiful location. The convienance made up for what the property lacks. The property needs some updating. Carpets are filthy, hallway smells like a dirty feet. peeling wallpaper in bathroom. Breakfast was ok, coffee was cold. Bright spot was Staff was attentive and helpful.
2 out of 5
for Couples
by Rudolf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redondo beach

As close to the wilderness you can get

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Enjoyed my one day stay at tamarack. I was notified upon arriving withy dog that we could not stay in the lodge which we reserved. they quickly found us a small cabin which was very nice but $50 more. Staff was very helpful on local fishing info and area activities. Quite a few extra charges which seemed excessive but i would stay again if in the area. Expedia should go a better job filtering "dog allowed" rooms for people requesting them so this mistake does not occur again.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Mathilde from paris

Trop cher pour une petite chambre avec sdb commune

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Nous avons passé deux nuits dans cet hôtel pour profiter du Yosemite. La chambre est très petite, difficile de passer avec nos deux valises. Les toilettes et douches sont communes sur le palier. Nous avons eu la désagréable surprise de payer en plus 20$ par nuit pour les "resort fee" ce qui amène à près de 150euros la nuit au total, TROP CHER!!!! Et si vous voulez visiter le Yosemite, les principaux points sont à plus de 2 heures 30 en voiture, un hôtel plus près du côté EST serait mieux adapté.