Ratings based on 1,936 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The lady at the front desk was unfriendly and rude when we were checking in. The wi-fi didn't work during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, simple, easy

Posted Apr 18, 2017
If you need a place to stay near Yosemite, at a decent price and not TOO far away, here it is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Friendly staff, but everything looks like it was made in the 70s and not in a good way. Breakfast was little and not much more than toast, juice, fruit, cereal, eggs, yogurt, and muffins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Yosemite

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Very close to Yosemite valley.
Cons: Nothing to complain about, everything was perfect.
Location: Again, the location is the highlight of this hotel. It is short drive (30-40 minutes) to Yosemite from here.
The highlight of this hotel is it's location: it's a short 25 odd mile drive to Yosemite valley from there. The price is reasonable: nothing astronomical. Also, the hotel itself is cozy, clean, and well-supplied. I had a king bed room and I liked it, nothing to complain about. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient when I first arrived to check in at 11pm, it only took about 5 minutes. We only stayed one night. The next morning, we grabbed so continental breakfast, and were out early at 6am to drive out to Yosemite. Everything went by smoothly thanks to hotel staff checking us in/out, and answering last minute questions about road and weather conditions on the drive up to Yosemite valley. I recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, Wa

Rocky Start

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Overall we had a good experience staying at this hotel. However, we got off to a rocky start. It took 3 tries before we got the right room and key combination. Also the satellite TV was off and on the first night and the bathroom sink drained slowly. The next day both these problems were fixed. The rest of our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is a good launching point to visit Yosemite which we did in 1 day during our visit. Bass Lake is also nearby. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable hotel near yosemite

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Cons: the pillows were very hard, bed was comfortable
breakfast was basic unfortuneatly our room was next to laundry facilities the dryer was audible while we were trying to sleep hotel is in midst of remodel so not all amenities were open
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Cute little hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious rooms, kitchenette
Cons: Breakfast and the coffee
Cute little hotel in a convenient location. It has that rustic mountain feel. The rooms are a little dated but they are pretty spacious and clean and it was nice to have a little kitchenette in the room. There are lots of restaurants close by. We had Italian one night, Mexican the next night and frequented Starbucks and Subway. We drove into Yosemite valley two days in a row (the reason for staying there) and the drive was easy but a little long - maybe 30-40 minutes. If you can't stay in the park or at Tanaya Lodge, Oakhurst is where you want to stay if you're coming in via 41. Fish Camp is a little closer but not much to it and looked very run down. A couple cons about the hotel - the free breakfast was not very good, cereal, toast, muffins that weren't very good and yogurt that wasn't very good and the hotel coffee is really bad. Almost undrinkable even with creamer even for my husband who is not picky about coffee at all and drinks it black.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Yosemite and Bass Lake.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Wonderful, helpful staff!!
Cons: Needing updates, but were in the process of doing so.
Southgate was a nice and clean hotel within walking distance to restaurants and shops within Oakhurst. Yosemite park was an easy 20-30 minute drive. While the hotel needed some updating (they were in the process of doing some updates), the friendly staff made up for it. For example, they were in the process of updating their TVs to HD during our stay and we thus did not have any TV reception for 2 of our 3 nights. The male desk attendant gave us a significant credit on our bill for this inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park, CA

Most comfortable bed ever

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The direct TV was out so no TV our entire stay which is a challenge with kids. They put us in a recently redecorated room. Beautiful room but right next to the exit door which I heard Everytime it opened. I heard every person who walked down the hall, every sound my neighbors next to me and above me made. I would have rather been in an old room that was quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Close to Yosemite

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Room was dated but it was clean & very spacious. No TV due to technical problem, but not a problem with me. Staff was very friendly.