Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel is So so

Posted May 31, 2017
It has a nice garden in the middle, its clean and location was good for what we came for. Make sure you insist for a room near the entrance, otherwise they will give you a room far far away and you will have to walk a lot. The hotel is huge but not many people. The room we got was recently upgraded and big, so we got lucky in that case. Buffet breakfast is not bad, mostly Chinese food and not enough western food. The swimming pool opens at 7am which is late compared to other hotels opening 6am. They wouldn't let us swim because they want us to wear a swim cap, who the hell wears swim caps anymore and where do you get one at 7am???? ridicules. They have a steam room that fits 2 people, more like a small walk in fridge style.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to sites around Yuexiu District.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room can be cleaner.
Sites and restaurant are either with walking distance or short subway ride as for the location of hotel. But the ceiling of our hotel room is chipped by water leads and still have drips our last two nights there.
4 out of 5
by Gerald

Middle of it all. Everything close that matters.

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Dong Fang is centrally located. Rooms are ok. Staff ok. Book only online extended nights thru front desk will kill you.
1 out of 5
by faisal

Worst stay

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Staff doesn't speak English . Internet was a disaster. Breakfast dirty . Will never ever stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Before the room is very dark total 3 lights are out of order. They confirm can change another room but I have to wait almost 40 minutes and no answer.After I go down to front desk and complaint so they do it at once.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by 东方宾馆, Hotel Management
First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay. Upon receipt of this shortcoming, we immediately thoroughly investigated with concerned departments. We are delighted to learn your valuable suggestion for our facilities, and thank you to help us to get it improved. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice location, few mins walk to park and subway

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice and big hotel, few minuets walk to park, subway and Guangzhou rail station. Room are clean and big but the wifi is very slow and sigal is very weak, for sure you will go crazy if you really needs to get online.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by 东方宾馆, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.We are so delighted to learn that you are satisfied with our facilities. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
My only disappointment was that the Wi Fi was erratic and was out for a long time at the end of my visit. Overall though I would come again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by P R Deparment, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.We are delighted to learn your valuable suggestion for our WiFi signal , and thank you to help us to get it improved. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by stephanie

Very hard to communicate with the staffs .

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Staffs have very limited English knowledge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by P R Deparment, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice ,old charm

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: almost everything
Cons: little renovation of the room
Location: great location
Pleasant ,super friendly staff! Great facility.Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by 东方宾馆, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us. We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.