Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good Room.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Good hotel but a bit disappointed toilet wasn't cleaned properly and they folded our wet towels...surely they don't dry that way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Team E-Commerce, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for your stay at Bastion Hotel Zaandam! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Your comment will be discussed with the hotel management. Hopefully we may welcome you back sometime! Kind regards, Team E-Commerce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Location: there is a shopping mall in zaandam near the zaandam train station and a bus can take you to see the windmill
a cheap hotel, but a bit far from the airport and city if you're not driving, but worth the price! everything was clean etc. There is a bus that takes you to the city but it comes every half an hour, which comes as a 391 or 392
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul Turkey

not very close but good transportation connection

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: price was ok
Cons: room and bathroom quality
Location: nothing very much around
Hotel is totally average there is not much arround. Room is very basic and ok. There is two busses connecting to Amsterdam central station and a night bus for later returns. Hotel is in a quiet area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Peaceful but far

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Overall excellent hotel in a clean; quiet area! it's quite far from the city though so what you would save on room costs you will spend on transport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Chicago

Access to much with a friendly staff hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Thoughtful and cooperative staff
Cons: A more cost conscious approach for a breakfast offering.
Location: With major expressways nearby, you have immediate access to the rural, fishing areas of the north; the cities of the south and west.
By using public transportation and your own auto, you have immediate access to much of what makes Amsterdam and its environs. Drive if you must, but public transportation is very comprehensive and timely. We were in contact with 5 or 6 hotel staff members during our stay and have only positive comments about everyone of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
2 out of 5
by MackyG from London

Hotel Bastion Zaandam Zuid

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: Staff could be more accomodating
Location: Did not notice anything to do near by.
Hotel, was OK, the receptionist I encountered on arrival was rude. The Staff on reception when checking out were more polite. Hotel is 20mins..approx 50 euros to the centre of Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from San Antonio, TX

Nice Hotel on the outskirts but close enough

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The cost was very reasonable for a still rather central area. Very friendly & helpful staff. Better than your typical 'just to sleep somewhere' hotel.
Cons: Bathrooms need vents or a way to keep the doors open.
Location: It's Amsterdam!
We arrived early and were happy to be able to get into our room before the 2 pm check-in time. The hotel is located a little on the outskirts of Amsterdam but still close enough to get into the city in under half an hour through the bus stop which is located about two minutes away. The taxi ride from the airport cost a steep 60 euro so either count on the cost or bring your luggage through public transportation (which isn't that bad but we decided against it). The staff is very friendly and helpful, which really helps out a lot if you don't know the area. We ate in town so I can not comment on the breakfast but the cost was somewhere in the 7 euro range, which seems reasonable. WiFi is available and good enough to surf the web and access emails. It gave us some trouble using webcam chat on our phone with family in the US, so it is a little on the slow side but it works for your quick 5 minute check-ins. The showers take some getting used to. They are not separated with a cabin but only have slightly lowered tiles and a curtain dividing one from the room. There is no vent and the doors are hard to prop open since their closing mechanism is very strong. If you fog up the bathroom after a shower, good luck trying to get ready in front of the mirror until it clears up. That was merely a minor gripe however. There was no problem with noisy neighbors or streets which was very pleasing and important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tomahawk from London, UK

Bit far from town

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Real nice bathroom
Cons: distance from central dam
Location: secluded
Really nice hotel, bit further from central dam than i thought, but the bus was a fun journey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Cons: Receptionist
Location: Very far away from the city center. Very inconvenient
Terrible hotel, located very far away from the city center. Very inconvenient