Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnham, Bucks

Lovely hotel, near the beach, great spacious suite

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Lovely hotel, near the beach, great spacious suite, tasty food with lots of choice, all inclusive alcohol not too bad. Heated pool very nice but unfortunately quite a few things not running whilst we were there during UK half term e.g. water slide, baby pool, kids club. The day we left it got very busy (possibly Croatian holiday), kids club started and staff were very friendly. Up until that point the staff had been fine, reception staff were very helpful. Beach not great for sitting at as it is small and sand isn't great, but very nice swimming in the small bay and provides amazing view from room, pool and bar. Zadar is approximately 40 minutes walk, 5 minutes drive or 10 - 15 minutes bus ride, 10 kuna (approximately £1.20) each way. Overall, had an amazing week - thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Danny, a big thank you from all of us here at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** for your detailed review here at Expedia! It has been a pleasure to read about your 7-nights-stay and the unforgettable experiences you made whilst staying with us. We as a team embody our motto "Welcome Home!" day by day and spare no efforts in making you feel as if you have never left home in the first place and arrived in a very special and unique atmosphere. Please note that the Falky Land, water slide, baby pool and animation program are all bound to the high season and are not in our standard offer after mid-September. We hope that you will soon find your way to our family paradise by the Adriatic Sea and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards from Zadar, Ivan Polak & Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of Season

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Health spa was good and location was good
Cons: Room was not big enough for a family of four to inhabit for four nights comfortably
Location: Located close to sea and good walks. Easy access to Zadar.
Visited for kids 1/2 term. Bit disappointing as water slide closed. Inclusive drinks were of poor quality. I would rather have paid a bit less and had a proper paid bar. Buffet food was disappointing. Same food for each meal each day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our hotel here at Expedia! After reading your review we came to the conclusion that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel offers and want to use the occasion to apologize for any inconveniences experienced during your stay. We nonetheless hope that you will give us another chance in the future in order to show you that we truly care and appreciate our guests - in the meanwhile we wish you all the best! Kind regards from Zadar, Ivan Polak & Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

All Inclusive Family Hotel in Zadar

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Laid back atmosphere. Even though it was full, it didnt feel crowded.
Cons: The room we stayed in was a little tired (chipped walls, veranda door was stiff) - but it was very clean.The air con wasnt very effective.
Location: 5 metres to rocky town beach. 10 mins drive from Zadar.
The hotel is set around a gigantic pool with a water slide. It seems like an older and newer hotel have been joined together, with dining and entertainment in the former, and rooms in the latter. We visited during the height of summer, so it was busy but not bursting. We managed to get loungers around the pool and tables during feeding times. The food was a buffet style, with some "show" cooking - although this was limited and a bit hit and miss (we had some undercooked fish). There was always a wide selection of foods from salads and cold cuts through to pasta, chips etc. The major draw is the entertainment for kids, from day time activities and the FalkyClub through to evening performances, there was always something for the little ones to do. The beach near the hotel is shallow, shelving but rocky - much like the rest of Croatia from our experience. There was a busy town beach around the corner, but there was little reason to go there, given that the pool at the hotel was so good. Staff were friendly and polite and left you to your own devices. Zadar town is around 10 minutes drive away and well worth a visit, particularly for the sunset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review regarding your stay at our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** here at Expedia! We are always quite happy to get such positive feedback like yours as it motivates us immensely and gives us that extra push to make even the impossible possible. We as a team live our hotel motto "Welcome Home!" day by day and spare no efforts in making your stay with us a truly memorable and worthwhile holiday experience. We believe that we succeeded in doing so with you. We therefore hope to welcome you back home for a second time in the future and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards from Zadar, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
by Akshay

The best of Croatia

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay! Good food, beach and pool for kids with a very kind and generous staff to keep you happy during the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Akshay, thank you for reviewing our hotel here at Hotels.com! It has been a real pleasure to read that your stay with us has been such an enjoyable and worthwhile experience and that you had the chance to experience our Welcome Home Spirit firsthand. We as a team spare no efforts in offering you only the best hotel offers and service excellence in any of our Falkensteiner Hotels & Residences. We are therefore very happy that our rich and varied All Inclusive full board offer, the well-kept park and pool area as well as the guest-oriented staff exceeded your expectations greatly. We hope to welcome you back in the nearest future and until then wish you all the best! With kind regards from Zadar, Your Team at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik****
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel with excellent position!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The views from our bedroom, well worth paying extra for a sea view! The position and views to the mountains in the distance are amazing.
Cons: The sweet mixers in the drinks.
Location: As above location good for sea and strolls. The local bus was the equivalent of 80p into Zadar to explore the old town. The locals are very friendly
The hotel staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel was clean and had everything you could wish for a comfortable and enjoyable break. The food was plentiful with a good choice. Although, the wine and beer were drinkable in the all inclusive package they weren't the best. The only let down were the very sweet mixers with the spirits which ruined the taste of the local drinks. The hotel's position on the waterfront was fabulous and some good walks around the coast and to the local marina/beach. Ensure you watch the sunset over the sea in the outside bar terrace. We used the SPA which was also fantastic with experienced,lovely staff. Overall a great place and don't be put off with the family tag if you are a couple it's good for all and the children are kept well occupied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Funimation Borik Team, Hotel Management
Dear Angie, a big thank you from all of us for your top rating and very detailed review of your stay at our hotel here at Expedia! It has been a pleasure to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations greatly and that you had the chance to experience our Welcome Home Spirit firsthand. We as a team give our best day by day to make you as guests feel as if you have never left home in the first place and arrived in a very special and cozy atmosphere. Judging from your review we believe that we succeeded in doing so owing to our fabulous staff, the rich and varied buffets at our restaurant as well as the Acquapura Thalasso & SPA Center which serves as a real retreat for those who are in need of relaxation and well-deserved rest. It is a pity that we missed out on a 5-star rating due to the All Inclusive drinks which may be too sweet for some of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! WIth kind regards from the sunny side of Europe, Your Team at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik****
4 out of 5
by Ales

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Ales, thank you for your great rating here at Hotels.com! We cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards from Zadar, Your Team at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik****
3 out of 5
by Nicola

disappointing but has potential

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Checked in 28th March to find outdoor pools and slide were closed and informed they would not be opening for another 2-3 weeks. hugely disappointed. Also the shops, bar and snack bar were also closed (some shops opened on the 31st March). they were doing a lot of repairs in preparation for the season beginning so were varnishing and painting which wasn't very pleasant. The indoor softplay area was great however the ball pit didnt have enough balls to even cover the floor, it had been repaired in-house so parts weren't particularly safe (hanging bits and string holding some climbing platforms up) The hotels prices for excursion are not competitive so worth to 10 kuna bus to old town to get a trip at a much cheaper price. staff weren't overly friendly but were pleasant enough, felt it wasn't catered for brits very well but im sure as flights are increasing they may have a lot more brits coming so this may change. food was good, saw a huge change as the days went by as they had more people they begun putting out a better selection, no drinks between meals available as the bars were closed, and theres no option to purchase food between meals either if you miss buffet times. rooms are clean however balconies have a low climbable barrier so not great for toddlers/young children which was unfortunate as the air con caused us to cough (assuming from dust) potentially a lovely hotel, maybe only in summer though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Nicola, thank you for your honest and detailed review for our hotel here at Hotels.com! We are very sorry to read that we were not able to let you experience our Welcome Home Spirit firsthand and that we did not meet your expectations when it comes to the hotel facilities, the variety of dishes at our buffets as well as the general cleanliness in your room. Please allow us to clarify some of the raised points in your review. While it is true that we did have some pre-season renovations going on during your stay at our hotel, we made the necessary precautions so that none of our guests would be affected by the above mentioned renovation works. This includes the fact that all of our guests were accommodated in one wing of the hotel while the other wing would have been worked on etc. There is a snack menu available at our Barbara Bar which offers a variety of cold and warm starters, snacks, main dishes and desserts, respectively. We therefore cannot quite understand the apparent issue regarding the "missing" option during meal times. We apologize for all inconveniences experienced during your stay with us and believe that there is still some room for improvement in some areas. We hope that you will nonetheless give us another chance in the future in order to offer you the holiday that you anticipated in the first place. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best! Yours sincerely, Your Team at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik****
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place highly recommend

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous weekend trip. Beautiful hotel and surrounding
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** here at Hotels.com! We are very glad to read that you deem our hotel a beautiful location and that you have enjoyed your stay with us, too. We hope to welcome you back home once again and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

An excellent week away

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Nope
Location: see above
We pick this hotel via Expedia for a week away in the October half term. We were travelling with three kids (8, 5 & 2 years old). The room was excellent with a queen bed for mum and dad, and a separate room with bunk beds for the two older boys and a cot for the little one. We also had a balcony and lounge area. We went all inclusive. Food was very good with plenty of choice. Free flowing beer, wine with meals and in addition some cocktails (from the bar area). There was a good soft play area for the kids (next to the bar ;-). Two pools (one heated) and a water slide. There is a beach next to the hotel and an outdoor play area. There are tennis courts and a gym (we did not take our kit so did not try - but looks very good). We spend most of the day in and around the hotel. We took a land train to Zadar one day (60 kuna one year for our family). There are excursions available if you want to do more. We flew with Ryanair from Manchester. From the airport there is a shuttle bus (25 kunas for the adults - kids free) which take you 5-6km from the hotel - we then took a taxi - 60 kunas. On the way back we ordered a taxi from the hotel - due to the size of the family it was 300 kuna's (i.e. we had a van). Overall we had a fantastic week away - very relaxing and for the price we paid very good value. Would recommend especially for those families with larger families (there was a number of families with three kids on holiday with us).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, we thank you for your honest and detailed review for our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** here at Expedia! We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel to the fullest and that your family and you had the chance to experience our hotel motto "Welcome Home!" firsthand. Our All Inclusive full board offer, the unique seafront location, the Acquapura SPA Center, our guest-oriented team as well as the flexible connection to the Old Town of Zadar make up the perfect combination for a relaxing and exciting family holiday by the Adriatic Sea. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! Kind regards from the sunny South, Ivan Polak & Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the right location

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great two days stay. Everything was good, except for some of the guests. If your skin colour is anything but white, then expect guests to stare at you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and comment here at Hotels.com! We are glad to read that you have had a great time at our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** and that you were completely satisfied with everything that our hotel has to offer. Although we cannot directly influence prejudice from other guests we still would like to apologize for this inconvenience and use this occasion to clarify that we at Falkensteiner appreciate guests of all colours, backgrounds, cultures and parts of the world. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! With kind regards, Ivan Polak & Team