Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel with excellent position!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The views from our bedroom, well worth paying extra for a sea view! The position and views to the mountains in the distance are amazing.
Cons: The sweet mixers in the drinks.
Location: As above location good for sea and strolls. The local bus was the equivalent of 80p into Zadar to explore the old town. The locals are very friendly
The hotel staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel was clean and had everything you could wish for a comfortable and enjoyable break. The food was plentiful with a good choice. Although, the wine and beer were drinkable in the all inclusive package they weren't the best. The only let down were the very sweet mixers with the spirits which ruined the taste of the local drinks. The hotel's position on the waterfront was fabulous and some good walks around the coast and to the local marina/beach. Ensure you watch the sunset over the sea in the outside bar terrace. We used the SPA which was also fantastic with experienced,lovely staff. Overall a great place and don't be put off with the family tag if you are a couple it's good for all and the children are kept well occupied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Funimation Borik Team, Hotel Management
Dear Angie, a big thank you from all of us for your top rating and very detailed review of your stay at our hotel here at Expedia! It has been a pleasure to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations greatly and that you had the chance to experience our Welcome Home Spirit firsthand. We as a team give our best day by day to make you as guests feel as if you have never left home in the first place and arrived in a very special and cozy atmosphere. Judging from your review we believe that we succeeded in doing so owing to our fabulous staff, the rich and varied buffets at our restaurant as well as the Acquapura Thalasso & SPA Center which serves as a real retreat for those who are in need of relaxation and well-deserved rest. It is a pity that we missed out on a 5-star rating due to the All Inclusive drinks which may be too sweet for some of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! WIth kind regards from the sunny side of Europe, Your Team at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik****
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place highly recommend

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous weekend trip. Beautiful hotel and surrounding
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** here at Hotels.com! We are very glad to read that you deem our hotel a beautiful location and that you have enjoyed your stay with us, too. We hope to welcome you back home once again and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

An excellent week away

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Nope
Location: see above
We pick this hotel via Expedia for a week away in the October half term. We were travelling with three kids (8, 5 & 2 years old). The room was excellent with a queen bed for mum and dad, and a separate room with bunk beds for the two older boys and a cot for the little one. We also had a balcony and lounge area. We went all inclusive. Food was very good with plenty of choice. Free flowing beer, wine with meals and in addition some cocktails (from the bar area). There was a good soft play area for the kids (next to the bar ;-). Two pools (one heated) and a water slide. There is a beach next to the hotel and an outdoor play area. There are tennis courts and a gym (we did not take our kit so did not try - but looks very good). We spend most of the day in and around the hotel. We took a land train to Zadar one day (60 kuna one year for our family). There are excursions available if you want to do more. We flew with Ryanair from Manchester. From the airport there is a shuttle bus (25 kunas for the adults - kids free) which take you 5-6km from the hotel - we then took a taxi - 60 kunas. On the way back we ordered a taxi from the hotel - due to the size of the family it was 300 kuna's (i.e. we had a van). Overall we had a fantastic week away - very relaxing and for the price we paid very good value. Would recommend especially for those families with larger families (there was a number of families with three kids on holiday with us).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, we thank you for your honest and detailed review for our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** here at Expedia! We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel to the fullest and that your family and you had the chance to experience our hotel motto "Welcome Home!" firsthand. Our All Inclusive full board offer, the unique seafront location, the Acquapura SPA Center, our guest-oriented team as well as the flexible connection to the Old Town of Zadar make up the perfect combination for a relaxing and exciting family holiday by the Adriatic Sea. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! Kind regards from the sunny South, Ivan Polak & Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the right location

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great two days stay. Everything was good, except for some of the guests. If your skin colour is anything but white, then expect guests to stare at you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and comment here at Hotels.com! We are glad to read that you have had a great time at our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** and that you were completely satisfied with everything that our hotel has to offer. Although we cannot directly influence prejudice from other guests we still would like to apologize for this inconvenience and use this occasion to clarify that we at Falkensteiner appreciate guests of all colours, backgrounds, cultures and parts of the world. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! With kind regards, Ivan Polak & Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located only a few kilometres from the main attention in Zadar. Some really good choices of a variety of different food in the buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review here at Hotels.com! Our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** is one of the most visited family hotels in the region and boasts with a rich and varied All Inclusive full board offer as well as a unique location just 3,5 kilometers away from the ancient Old Town of Zadar. We are very glad to read that especially these two factors left a lasting impression on you and that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We therefore cannot wait to welcome you back home and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards from Dalmatia, Ivan Polak & Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ljubljana

Hotel for family

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The children have a lot of fun with animators.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review here at Hotels.com! We are more than glad to read that your stay at our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** has been such a delight to you and your children, too. Our Animation Team spares no efforts in offering an entertaining, active and extensive animation program for children, teenagers and adults alike. We will forward your compliments to our team members who will greatly appreciate your kind words. We hope to welcome you back home soon and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards from Croatia to Slovenia, Ivan Polak & Team
4 out of 5
by Vincent from Germany

Family of 5

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great. There was a separate sleeping room for the kids. Great swimming pool. Not sure if its For everyone but everything was included. They had snacks my the pool also. Its right off the beach. We had the best time. Although theres not to much around there. To say walk to. But overall great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Vincent, a big thank you from all of us for your rating and review here at Hotels.com! We are more than glad to read that you have enjoyed your time at our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** to the fullest and that the room, park and pool area, the unique seafront location as well as the extended All Inclusive full board offer made your stay a memorable and worthwhile experience. We hope to welcome you back to our family paradise and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! With kind regards from Croatia to Germany, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
by Florian

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Florian, vielen Dank für Ihre 5-Sterne-Bewertung hier bei Hotels.com! Wir freuen uns jetzt schon, Sie ganz bald wieder in unserem Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** begrüßen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen derweil alles Gute! Lieben Gruß, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
by Michele from Kaiserslautern

Relaxing beach vacation

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
The staff working at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We asked for recommendations on activities close to the hotel and each time we were not disappointed with the direction they pointed us in. Our kids loved the kids club and felt so comfortable with the staff that worked in there. We hope to be able to go back for another stay in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, a big thank you from the whole team for your positive review with high rating here at Hotels.com! Our Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** is one of the most popular and most visited family hotels of this category in Croatia. One of the key factors of our service is our guest-oriented and highly motivated staff that spares no effort to make your stay with us as special and unique as possible! We will forward your kind words to our animation and kids care team as we truly appreciate criticism of any sort and believe that they will further motivate our team members. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon and until then wish you all the best! Kind regards, Ivan Polak & Team
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Matlock

Excellent Choice

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it! Staff very helpful at all times and will arrange taxis for you. Close to the airport. Quiet and relaxing location. It is approximately 40 minutes walk around the coast to the old town or there is regular bus service if you prefer. Good choice of drinks from the bar. I had read many negative reviews on the quality of their wine before I went to this hotel. Their wine is absolutely fine! Food is well prepared and there is plenty of choice. I look forward to going back to this hotel. Thank you so much hotel for upgrading my room and giving me a sea view. Could not have been happier with my choice of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Ivan Polak, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, a big thank you from all of us here at the Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik**** for your very detailed and honest review here at Hotels.com! It has been a real pleasure to read your positive comments for our staff, location, transport connection, facilities and cuisine! It seems as if you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and did not miss out in any shape or form. We as a team want to make you feel as if you have never left home and arrived in a very special and cozy atmosphere. Furthermore, we are happy that the room upgrade into a seaview room reassured your expectations for our hotel. We also appreciate your words in defense of the buffets and drink choices as we spare no effort in offering you only the freshest and most delicious snacks and dishes from this region. We hope to welcome you back in the nearest future and in the meanwhile wish you all the best! Kind regards from Zadar, Ivan Polak & Team