Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice clean hotel!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The comfort and how clean the rooms were.
Location: Sea organ and all the history of Zadar.
The villa was very clean and updated. The owner was very friendly. The hotel was one of my favorite places in all of Croatia that I stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room but noisy overall.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
The hotel was noisy. We could here our neighbors next door in their room as they walked around, opening and shutting their bed and bathroom doors, people as they walked up and down the stairs, and even people talking as they gathered downstairs at the entrance way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel a short walk to the beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
A modern, clean apartment with small cooking facilities. Great if you have been to the old city and you want to chill at a beach. We didn't try the bus system but taxi fares were fairly reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Whitehorse

Location, value and free bicycles!

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Villa Sonja is located in a quiet part of the city very close to several beaches. Also close to the apartment are a "caffe bar" and a small bakery. There is a pizza restaurant right next door and other restaurants within a short distance. The owner provides bicycles to guests, and we used them every day to cycle into the old town and to various beaches, restaurants, etc. We really appreciated that. We needed and were happily given extra towels and bedding. Be prepared to pay cash (kunas or euros), as none of these types of accommodation in Croatia (apartments rather than hotels) accept credit cards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Nottingham, UK

Great inexpensive stay

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: Price, position, clean, airport pick up/drop off
Cons: Bed (a little uncomfortable), paying by cash
Location: Near centre but not in it, near beach, near supermarket, restaurants and banks
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Sonja. It was very reasonably priced for a clean room that had everything we needed. We especially appreciated the free airport transportation. We also appreciated that when we checked-in we were given a map of the area and told about things in the local area and how to get around. We stayed in the studio for 2 people. We had a kitchenette (fridge, 2 hobs, microwave, sink, coffee machine), table and chairs, TV, wardrobe, bedside cabinets, bed and bathroom. We found the bed a little uncomfortable, but this was not a major problem. We were surprised there was no blanket on the bed (just sheets and a slightly padded cover), however we didn't need one, although one night we were slightly chilly. Had we really needed it, I am confident that we could have asked the management, who seemed friendly and helpful. Villa Sonja may not be in the centre of Zadar, but you can get there either by bus or by a 35 to 40 minute walk, or 50 minutes if you take the route along the coast (walking about 3mph). With the coast and beach nearby, we found it well placed to investigate the area. There was a nearby supermarket and bank. Our stay was very positive, and the negative things I've mentioned were only minor, especially given price. The only other thing was that we could only pay by cash (which retrospectively isn't surprising considered it is a small place), but having booked through Expedia with a credit card, it took us by surprise on the last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal Location for Seeing Zadar & Surrounding Area

Posted Oct 16, 2012
We had a lovely spacious apartment that was well presented, very clean and well equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was located close to the Borik marina and beaches - handy for walking along the seaside or swimming. There are lovely restaurants locally if you don't want to head into Zadar town centre, and there are plenty of local shops too. We used Zadar as a base for day trips elsewhere in Dalmatia, and it was easy to get from the apartment to the main roads for heading North, East or West.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Damir from Croatia

Great accommodtion for summer vacations/festivals

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Great apartment in a quiet location withing walking distance from the beach and the city center. There is a good restaurant just next door and other facilities in close proximity (ATM, stores bars etc)... I will definitely stay there next time when visiting Zadar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregor from Glasgow, Scotland

Recommended

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Clean and comfortable apartment in a beautiful part of town; ten minutes from the city centre. Definitely recommended - and great value too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Cerca del centro de Zadar
Location: Visita a Zadar centro, muy bonito, recomendable
El inconveniente es el pago en metálico, no acpetan tarjeta de crédito
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quiet studio apartment

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Villa Sonja is composed by some studio apartments including a small kitchen. The apartment placed at the ground floor has a small terrace with a table and two chairs where you can enjoy the quiet neighborhood. In front of Villa Sonja there is a restaurant. If you are going by car you can park aside the villa but don't worry because the area it seems really safe. On the other side Villa Sonja is far enough from the center and the main restaurants so you have to consider to take your car. Almost all the parking require a toll.