Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

The most amazing place and hospitality!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Papingo is the most beautiful village in Zagori (and we saw most of them). In addition to the stunning views it has great atmosphere and fabulous taverns. Saxonis houses is the best place to stay; the rooms are huge warm and beautiful, very very clean and comfortable. The hotel's location is excellent. The breakfast is perfect. The owner, Vasilis, is the most kind, welcoming and friendly person we've met. He have such a good heart and there is not enough words to describe his amazing personality. Go there and see for yourself!
5 out of 5
by olivia from Clil

Recmmended

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very good,don't miss it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

EXCEPTIONAL IN EVERY WAY

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Both the hotel and the owner, Basile, are exceedingly charming. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are squeaky clean. Location is ideal.
Cons: WiFi is poor throughout Greece. Basile is doing all he can to improve the service at his hotel.
Location: Hiking, swimming, river rafting, horseback riding, repelling, etc.
Saxonis House, the owner Basile, and the village of Papigo, were the crowning highlight of a two month trip through Turkey and Greece. I booked a triple room. When we checked in, Basile offered a separate, available room to our 13-year-old son, free of charge. The next morning, he took my family and another family on a fun, wet hike up the gorge up through pristine swimming holes and small waterfalls. Then we swam at the rock pools and enjoyed local wine and cheese. Perfect day, thanks to our perfect host. Basile also arranged river rafting, horseback riding, and suggested memorable hikes. I went on a long hike by myself one afternoon and didn't arrive back to the village until sunset. Basile was waiting for me at the top of the path. He wanted to make sure I returned safe and before nightfall. After a week at Saxonis House, we regarded Basile as family. I nearly cried when we said goodbye. -- With so much of the world left to see, I rarely return to the same place. We enjoyed our experience so much, we will likely scrap our plans to see Australia/New Zealand next summer to return to Saxonis House in Papigo Village next year for at least 2 weeks. Love everything about this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Nice room, but a little crowded for four persons.
5 out of 5
by Didier from London

Mountain paradise

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing place overall, beautiful building and surrounding but also nice rooms, very comfortable and authentically decorated. Finally very nice hosts and getting out of their way to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon, USA

Vasilis, Great Host

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Location: Hiking in the national park is the big draw. We hunted and found many old stone bridges in the area.
To find Saxonis Houses, one must phone. Everyone knows everybody there. As we did not have a cell phone, a gentleman gladly helped. Vasilis dashed to the open area where we parked, cheerily introduced himself and hauled our baggage to Saxonis. He is a wealth of knowledge about this national park and happily told us much of it. His little hotel, more a B 'n B, looks like the rest of the village--all stone houses, some older while others are very new. Our room, rustic in decor, was very clean with a comfortable bed. Unlike other small Greek hotels, there was an electric pot for hot water with tea bags and instant coffee with China cups. In addition, we found a box of tissue and a small carafe of a local grape distilled liquor! The bathroom had a small bathtub with mobile shower and the usual amenities. For breakfast, he'd made whole grain bread and a local recipe feta cheese pie. In addition, he offered eggs cooked the way we liked, fresh squeezed orange plus coffee and a variety of teas. This is the best small hotel that we have stayed in to date in two weeks of non-stop Greek travel, largely because of the owner, VasilIs.
4 out of 5
by Lucas from Sydney

The other Greece

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
Angeliki and Vassili (and Anna of course), were the perfect hosts exuding Greek hospitality and friendliness. The knew the area and were able to provide advice on the area and activities such as river rafting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

The other Greece

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Hospitable, character filled.
Location: Mountains, gorges, river rafting with Yannis.
Great little guest house run by the exceptional Vassili and Angeliki. The other Greece most people don't see of mountains, forests and rivers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels