Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey uk

Stately hotel, with a warm ambiance.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: It's location is great for the train station and it's also an easy walk into the centre of Zagreb. The bistro restaurant is excellent and good value.
Location: We took a tram to the opposite side of the city, them a bus to the top of the mountain behind. It was a beautiful hike back down taking around 3 hours
We started a weeks holiday in Croatia with a night in this hotel and wished we had booked a second.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly a five star hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel Esplanade Zagreb is amazing. Truly a 5 star experience in every sense of the phrase. The concierge arranged for my side trip to Plitvice Lakes and a wonderful dinner back in Zagreb later that same night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

If you like Art Deco this is for you.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
A beautiful,well located hotel. Next to station but no noise of the trains and 5 minutes stroll to the heart if town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adding quality in your Zagreb experience

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, close to the city center. Just 10 min away from the central square. Breakfast was excellent, not a huge variety in buffet but the quality was excellent. I tried the spa, where I got a very good massage. Plus is the access to the sauna. The gym was very small though and definitely below expectations for a hotel of that level.
5 out of 5
by Richard JM

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Could it be the best hotel in Croatia? It was certainly our favourite! A stunning Art Deco restoration...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Zagreb

Posted Mar 15, 2017
If this hotel is within your budget (and it is surprisingly affordable), then this is the place to stay. I could go down the list of reasons, but basically everything is somewhere between "very good" and "awesome", leaning closer to awesome. For me, 24 hour room service and a fully stocked minibar are a big deal, but fast free Internet, an out-of-this-world staff and the overall impeccable cleanliness of the place might do it for others. Throw in the historical tie-in, the location, and... did I mention the staff?... and you have a world-class hotel by any standard. When I travel, I economize in all sorts of places, but never on hotels, because I want to have a place to return to and unwind. I say this because I have stayed in many fine hotels, and this one certainly ranks up there with my all-time faves.
4 out of 5
by Kapil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel in Zagreb

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It would be very difficult to fault our experience at the Esplanade. Anything we asked for was immediately dealt with, without fuss or question. And the breakfast is deservedly legendary. A wonderful 3 nights!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff was especially kind and attentive. Great restaurant inside.
5 out of 5
by Christiane

Lovely hotel, great staff

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice welcome at reception, great staff, very helpful. The Esplanade is a beautiful hotel. Good location -- train station and town centre in walking distance. Tram to central bus station nearby. Very convenient and pleasant overall.