Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Room was big with a nice view. The TV was old and sometimes wasn't working, air conditioning satisfying. Cleanliness was alright, they were changing sheets and towels every 3 days, but they weren't cleaning properly the toilet and the floor under the bed and in the corners. The soap when we arrived in the bathroom was used. Its was really peaceful and the owner was very kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet and quaint hotel with all the basics

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The size of the rooms, quiet spot, that we were not pestered, the food in the area (Botsalo tavern and Isalos are fantastic).
Cons: Potable water would be great. We were also kept awake by a choir of roosters most nights.
Location: It is best to rent a boat and discover some of the amazing coves further along the west side of the island.
We had a great time at Herodotos Studios in the second half of September. First and foremost, Keri Lake is a tiny village and lacks the loud and, to us, unappealing, Brit-centric characteristics of other parts of the island. There are no English breakfasts or Shamrock Irish pubs here. As many have noted, the water in the hotel is not potable; there are 2 stores within 100 metres of the hotel where large jugs of water can be purchased. The rooms on the 3rd floor have very high, beautiful, wood ceilings and balconies overlooking the sea in the distance. We found everything to be clean and the kitchen to have everything needed. The owner was kind - if you do not ask for anything, you will be left alone with a mid-week change of sheets and towels. If you need anything, he was very accommodating and even drove us to the airport. The cost for this service is 30 euro each way, keep in mind. The beach by the hotel is ~7 min walk; it is a large but very narrow small-pebble beach; however, once in the water, the bottom is all sand, no seaweed, and very shallow. A 20-minute walk will take you to Marathia beach which has large pebbles, a more abrupt depth and interesting fish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Lovely stay. Charming, simple accommodation. The management were fantastic throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very friendly & clean

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Very quiet clean & friendly.
Cons: I liked it all.
Location: Very quiet out of season, which suited me perfectly.
Friendly staff, room cleaned to a high standard, everything worked and had a lovely stay - thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful To be reccomended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam

Friendly and Simple

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The friendly and good hearted staff. The simplicity and fair price.
Cons: wifi connection in the rooms... although it was also nice that theres a reason to go down to the main balcony and meet all the other guests
I stayed here for two weeks. The hotel managers George and Ellenie were very kind. The location is great 5 minutes walk from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from England, UK

Nice Hotel offering a very warm welcome.

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Proximity to Lake Keri. Relaxed atmosphere and very clean
Cons: Couldn't really fault anything during our weeks stay
Location: Very pretty resort near to Lake Keri
We enjoyed a relaxing week at the Herodotus Hotel in April this year. Situated in a delightful unspoilt part of the Island very close to the lovely Keri Lake. The Hotel is clean and very comfortable and we were given a very warm welcome by our hosts who were always available should we need any help. We would definately recommend this hotel which we found very good value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien Österreich

Überbuchung kein Studio frei!!! Kein Service!!!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Leider kann ich nicht direkt eine Bewertung über herodotos studios schreiben, da wir nicht dort nächtigen konnten, da kein Zimmer frei war, obwohl wir gebucht hatten. Alles begann so wir kamen am Flughafen an und warteten auf unseren flughafentransfer, der für 15 Euro extra angeboten wurde. Hmm naja niemand kam also beschlossen wir dort anzurufen. Die Rezeptionistin war so unhöflich was uns einfällt und wir sollen uns doch ein Taxi nehmen. Gut Taxi kostete 28 Euro. Dort angekommen natürlich zu früh, da der Check Inn erst um 14:30 ist, war für uns kein Problem wir wollten nur die Koffer abstellen und dann gleich auf erste Erkundungstour. Um 15 kamen wir dann wieder zurück zum Anwesen, wo wir einmal niemanden finden konnten, unsere Koffer waren versperrt uns weit uns breit kein Mensch. Ok dann haben wir mal gesucht, irgendwann kam ein Alter Mann, der kaum Englisch konnte uns versuchte den Besitzer, der dort anscheinend auch wohnte, über die Gegensprechanlage zu erreichen. Die quatschten eine Zeit lang und schließlich kam ein anderen älterer Mann und deutete uns ihm zu folgen. Wir verließen das Anwesen und gingen die Straße rauf in ein anderes Haus, wo uns der Mann in ein winziges Zimmer mit zwei Einzelbetten schleppte und sagte das is unser Apartment. Alsoo als Aufklärung wir haben gebucht ein Studio mit seaview und Doppelbett im oberen Stock. Bekommen haben wir eben dieses winzige Zimmer im Erdgeschoss mit Mini Fenster mit Blick auf ein Gebüsch!!! Ich natürlich rasend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Personale molto disponibile, gentile e accogliente, ci hanno fatto sentire a casa. Appartamento confortevole in una posizione strategica
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roma

Albergo appena sufficiente

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Purtroppo il soggiorno all'herodotos e' cominciato subito male. Nella descrizione della stanza,e quindi nella prenotazione,si parlava di "vista mare"..ebbene il mare nn si vedeva affatto! Il titolare,con fare quasi beffardo, ci ha invitato a tornare in stanza con lui in modo da farci vedere che il mare c'era. In realta',in lontananza e dopo un'ampia vista su cortile,su strada e fra gli alberi si intravede un centimetro di mare! Per carita', io in viaggio mi adatto a tutto,nn sono tipo da mille pretese,ma essere presa in giro proprio nn mi piace. Per capirci meglio,l'herodotos ha tutte le stanze che affacciano dal lato in direzione del mare ma la "vista mare" e' un'altra cosa! Sarebbe carino che descrivessero meglio le loro stanze onde evitare equivoci! L'albergo e' gestito da 2 coniugi e quindi in reception nn c'e' altro personale oltre a loro, il che significa che ci sono a loro piacimento e che quindi spesso nn ci si trova nessuno. Nn mi sono stati chiesti i documenti ne al check in ne al check out...poiche' ho lasciato l'albergo alle 5.30 del mattino,giustamente il titolare dormiva e il check out si e' limitato a lasciare le chiavi appese fuori dalla stanza come sua richiesta. Tralasciando la doccia che e' un tutt'uno con il water, parliamo delle pulizie,che consistono nel solo svuotamento del cestino della cucina. L'unica nota positiva e' che in spiaggia si arriva in pochi minuti a piedi e per fortuna il mare di limni keri e' davvero molto bello!