Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updated

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The hotel staff were very nice. The entrance door that I used at the back of building had a key entry that wasn't working so the door remained unlocked the entire time. Also, The sliding class door was unlocked when I first got to my room which was on the ground floor. The couch and chair in the room were visibly worn to the point where they needed replaced. The room was dimly lit and there was an off odor to the room. This facility is hooked to a water park and I was there in Dec, so it smelled unused...kind of dank and dusty. The one great thing about this room was the enormous bathtub. It was about double the size of abnormal tub. Linens and towels were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Still a Nice Place to Stay

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Convenience. Fun water park for grandchildren.
Cons: Regular dining hours. Ability to get meals.
Location: The Works museum is great. Granville is also a fun town to visit. Water park so much fun for kids.
We again stayed at the Cherry Valley Lodge on our most recent visit to Newark, Ohio. The lodge could use some updating but the place is still beautiful and the staff goes out of its way to make you happy. We were a little disappointed with our ability to get a meal and many of the vending machines did not work. Our breakfast server was excellent both days we ate in the dining room. Some of our issues may have been because we were traveling between the two holidays. Nothing was crowded so it was a real plus for us. We did notice more activity on the Monday we were leaving. I will still stay here again when we visit Newark. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and the lobby is still lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Location ok
Food is sub-par, restaurant lacking in food tastiness
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing staff! Mixed feelings about facility

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was very responsive. Also they were helpful and responsive with food allergy concerns.
Cons: Firm mattress (I usually like firm) Bathroom was ok but not as nice as rest of hotel.
Location: Attended a short conference. Didn't do much else. Close to Dennison University. Many gluten-free and vegan restaurants noted to be nearby.
I stayed here for a conference. The common areas of the hotel are very nice and inviting. Immaculately clean! The room I stayed in was VERY spacious and comforable in terms of size and layout. I didn't give the room a higher rating because the mattresses were very firm. Adding a foam or downy layer would go a long way to increasing comfort and quality of room. The bathroom in the room is a little dated, and water pressure in bathroom was on the low side. This would not stop me from staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
This hotel has a great location, facilities and friendly staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Unexpected

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The pond and gazebo
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to shopping and many restaurants. Secluded enough to feel like you are on a retreat.
Staff was over the top friendly. Room was bigger than expected. Nice L shaped set up for privacy from kids when sleeping. Enjoyed the pond gazebo and the scenery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinos

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Slow check-in, odd rooms that aren't cleaned properly, poor signals on televisions, and uncomfortable beds
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Pet friendly.
Cons: That the exterior door slammed constantly!
In need of a lot of maintenance! Tired hotel that needs an update badly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needed to relax, and this was ideal

Posted Oct 16, 2016
I loved the decor and even found myself just strolling about the halls to enjoy the beautiful artwork on the walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Beautiful hotel setting with lovely set up.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful.
Cons: See experience above.
Stayed there 4 days and enjoyed it each day. One of the best indoor swimming pools I've ever used. Highly recommend it to friends, Just needs some amenities such as replacing the hall carpets. toilets need to be replaced with low flow versions. Also the plastic seats need replacement with a better better arrangement for male customers.