Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Good discount hotel near waterfront

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Room was nice, bed was comfortable breakfast was great. It was a classy, if discounted hotel.
Cons: I think this is likely true of most hotels in Zanzibar, but they should cut down on spraying the room for bugs. The spray lingers and is offensive.
Location: The waterfront, slave museum, spice market and other local stuff was all within easy walking. Not a great deal of nightlife, but it was early June.
The Al-Minar was easily found off the main roads around the waterfront. An easy walking distance from all of downtown Stonetone, this hotel is a great bargain and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for a 1-2 day visit to stonetown

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Checked in at 2am. Room is nice and cool. Nice staff able to get late checkout
4 out of 5
by Zepho

It feels like home

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is pretty basic, however the great service you receive makes want to come back. What a warm atmosphere....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my new "go to " place in Zanzibar

Posted Feb 20, 2017
From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel welcome. The bed linens are lovely. Nice clean mosquito nets with NO holes. a/c works very well. Good lighting..lovely staff. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is close to everything: beach, restaurants, shops...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Overpriced hotel with cleanliness issues

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: It is well situated in the town.
Cons: Facilities and disinfecting the room(s).
Although the management and staff were welcoming, the facilities and room had problems. - Facilities: Included breakfast was mediocre at best. The shower would not drain properly, and the toilet seat was not adequately secured. - We both discovered that there were bed bugs and therefore developed persistent bites which have taken a very long time to heal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location close to restaurants and shops.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Lovely hotel in a great location. Close to shops and restaurants. Not that stonetown is very big. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Walked us to ATM and to a restaurant,and booked us a taxi to the beach for a good price. Had a lovely welcome when we arrived. Room spacious and clean with mozzie nets. Breakfast served on the rooftop very relaxed and plentiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Santosh, Hotel Management
Dear Janette, thank you very much for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. i am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. we are all motivated by your kindness. we hope to see you soon. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Great location, close to everything. Nice and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenya

Late night arrival but worth the money

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The late checkout allowance and the helpful staff at the reception desk.
Cons: The breakfast variety could be improved.
Location: This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Stonetown, near many shops and restaurants, a short walk to the water front. Taxi to Spice Tour.
We arrived in Zanzibar at 1am from Nairobi. Though we paid for it, the hotel conveniently arranged for a taxi to collect us. And even though we checked in late, we feel like we got our money's worth. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The A/C worked well. We were allowed to check-out late (about 11am) the following morning, giving us time to rest and enjoy breakfast. The breakfast was OK, just the standard tea/coffee, juice, eggs, toast, fruit, and sausage. The advantage is that the breakfast is on the rooftop. The staff at the front dest were very helpful keeping our bags while we went to explore Stonetown. Coming back, they were able to arrange an excellent, and affordable taxi service to the Spice Tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by santosh, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking your time for the wonderful review. we try our best to ensure all the guest's comfortable stay. your review will certainly motivate us. i hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you again. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Tucked away- yet handy to everything

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We arrived early yet that was not a problem . Very friendly staff who took care to be efficient and polite. The rooms were clean, turn down service provided and breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit. A handy location that was safe and secure as well.