Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best place we stayed in 3 weeks touring

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a lovely place to stay. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay perfect, really spoiling us during our honeymoon. The food was good, accommodation very clean and the facilities excellent. The dive school next door had friendly and helpful instructors and good diving and snorkelling. Everything had been thought through well from hammocks and pull down shelters outside if it got too windy to snorkelling gear and beach shoes to protect against sea urchins.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total relax from digital World

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Unexpected, but...it turned our as one of best trips ever! Mostly it happened due to return to Real World and lack of usual resort pamperings - missing foom service, very limited wifi and lack of TV enhanced real social relations between guests in resorts lounge, where ever present handsome Manager Cara and Andrea are going above and beyond to attend any query, one may have. Real family feeling, where every staff member truly cares about their guests. They bake the cake and all staff went out singing "Jambo Bwana" on our special day. Sincere thanks to Elwira, David, Eleonora, Jones and rest of truly friendly team. Truly excellent chef, all meals are well prepared and well varied every day. There are 3 grill buffet evenings: International on Tuesday, Seaffood on Friday and Swahili night on Sunday. Rest of the week are ala carte Diners with fish/ meat/ vegetarian choices. I'm not a type of AI tourist, but this is occasion when i recommend it for two reasons - best quality and economically gives a lot of savings, if to consider also antimalarial prophylaxis with tonic & gin :-) Absolutely safe country with most friendly people I've seen in decades, far away from crazy world turbulences, white sandy powder beach, reef walks, leisury walks or bike riding for miles on the beach, on site the best Zanzibar dive center, near by few local bars, but no active night life around - then you have to look on North beaches. I'll be back soon, before it is spoilt by civilization.
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Johannesburg, South Africa

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and humble staff and great food...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kampala, Uganda

Lovely hotel, wonderful and accommodating staff

Posted May 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Attentive staff, beautiful location/design, scuba diving on site
Cons: The rooms could use a bit of a paint touch up in some places
Location: Right on the beach, very private, scuba diving on site, bicycle rental at the hotel
Had such a wonderful stay at Azanzi. The staff were waiting for me when I arrived late at night (after a flight that was delayed for 12 hours), ready to quickly get me situated in my room and make sure I was comfortable. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - love the outdoor shower!!! - and had a great time diving with the SCUBAFISH dive center team and taking one of the hotel's bikes out for a spin on the beach! Throughout the visit, the staff were so accommodating and attentive, always asking how my day was going and asking if there was anything else I needed. I wish I could've stayed longer, but will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Brilliant hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Really enjoyed 4 nights here in July 2015. The hotel has just had a bit of a paint job so in terms of facilities and appearance everything was perfect. The room was comfortable with everything you could need. No safe in room but you could use the safe at reception which was fine. Staff were brilliant. Really friendly and helpful. We stayed all inclusive and the food was great. Because it is a small hotel you are not subjected to a huge dodgy buffet each evening instead you order lunch and dinner from a small menu which changes every day. Location good right on quite beach. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
by Dion from Kabul

Great value all inclusive

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay and great value for money compared with some resorts in the area. Only minor recommendations would be to have more plug sockets in the room and it would be better if the swimming pool was not under a roof as you can not really swim in the sea.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 Star, I dont think so!!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel must have been rated years ago. There is now way that this is a 4 star, 2 at a stretch. The pools paint is peeing, the pool table is ripped etc. The Spanish operations manager is extremely rude and has no idea how to treat clients. I arranged transfer from the ferry, it got charged to my room at twice the local rate. The place is shocking, but the food and local staff where very good.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Virginia

Exceeded all expectations

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels
The great service started before we even arrived. After we found out our flight was delayed, I called ahead and they left two dinners and an appetizer plate for us in our room. We slept great and enjoyed our breakfast, lunch and dinner the next few days. We did the complementary reef walk with a guide from the hotel and it was fantastic. It got us super excited about the reef, so we booked a snorkeling trip with Scubafish (on site, but a separate company). The people selling things on the beach weren't a problem. They stayed off the beach that belonged to the hotel, and even when we decided to walk down the beach, they didn't bother us. The room was great. Lots of space and I loved the double sinks and a separate outdoor shower in the huge bathroom. We had a basic garden room, so I assume all rooms have the extra sink and shower. The whole property is very clean and well cared for. The wifi is only accessible in the lobby/front desk area, but you shouldn't be on it much anyway - the beach is just too beautiful to waste time on your phone or computer. We had the all-inclusive package. Even though it didn't include all of the drinks they offer, the extra drinks we got were very reasonably priced. Long story short - we loved every minute of our stay at Azanzi and would recommend it to anyone looking for a carefree beach vacation on Zanzibar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
This resort is well placed. It needs some upgrades and renovations (the bathrooms, in particular, need some work) but the beach is lovely, the food was good, the staff were welcoming, and overall, we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Norway and South Africa

This is where you want to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We spent 2 nights at Azanzi and it was way too short! Upon our arival we got a room upgrade and stunning welcome drinks! We had the all inclusive package and it was so worth it! All meals were excellent! The resort is on the beach close to a bunch of activities Zanzibar has to offer. The resort staff are so helpful in arranging transport and guides for various activities! My wife had her birthday during our stay and the staff made it extra special by baking a cake and singing for her. All of the staff is very friendly and it felt that we had to say goodbye to very good friends when we left! Thank you for all the staff at Azanzi for giving us a holiday to remember!