Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Brilliant hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Really enjoyed 4 nights here in July 2015. The hotel has just had a bit of a paint job so in terms of facilities and appearance everything was perfect. The room was comfortable with everything you could need. No safe in room but you could use the safe at reception which was fine. Staff were brilliant. Really friendly and helpful. We stayed all inclusive and the food was great. Because it is a small hotel you are not subjected to a huge dodgy buffet each evening instead you order lunch and dinner from a small menu which changes every day. Location good right on quite beach. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dion from Kabul

Great value all inclusive

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay and great value for money compared with some resorts in the area. Only minor recommendations would be to have more plug sockets in the room and it would be better if the swimming pool was not under a roof as you can not really swim in the sea.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

4 Star, I dont think so!!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel must have been rated years ago. There is now way that this is a 4 star, 2 at a stretch. The pools paint is peeing, the pool table is ripped etc. The Spanish operations manager is extremely rude and has no idea how to treat clients. I arranged transfer from the ferry, it got charged to my room at twice the local rate. The place is shocking, but the food and local staff where very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johan from Stockholm

Great place on a calm beach

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff and food, calm place with good snorkelling/diving a 30 min boat ride away. Really nice place, not the best beach for swimming though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tomas from Stockholm

Mycket gemytligt och trevligt hotel på Matemwe

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels
Azanzi Beach hotel är ett mycket trevligt och härligt hotel. Trevlig stämning och skön atmosfär, familjärt med en stor blandning av nationaliteter. Bra pool som oftast ligger i skuggan. Solstolar dels inne på hotellområdet och dels precis utanför på stranden. Restaurang en trappa upp som serverar frukost och middag. Vid poolen ligger en bar och en lunchrestaurang. Även en trappa upp finns en bar. Bra priser i baren! 500 meter liggen en liten enkel by med möjlighet att handla dryck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Virginia

Exceeded all expectations

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels
The great service started before we even arrived. After we found out our flight was delayed, I called ahead and they left two dinners and an appetizer plate for us in our room. We slept great and enjoyed our breakfast, lunch and dinner the next few days. We did the complementary reef walk with a guide from the hotel and it was fantastic. It got us super excited about the reef, so we booked a snorkeling trip with Scubafish (on site, but a separate company). The people selling things on the beach weren't a problem. They stayed off the beach that belonged to the hotel, and even when we decided to walk down the beach, they didn't bother us. The room was great. Lots of space and I loved the double sinks and a separate outdoor shower in the huge bathroom. We had a basic garden room, so I assume all rooms have the extra sink and shower. The whole property is very clean and well cared for. The wifi is only accessible in the lobby/front desk area, but you shouldn't be on it much anyway - the beach is just too beautiful to waste time on your phone or computer. We had the all-inclusive package. Even though it didn't include all of the drinks they offer, the extra drinks we got were very reasonably priced. Long story short - we loved every minute of our stay at Azanzi and would recommend it to anyone looking for a carefree beach vacation on Zanzibar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
This resort is well placed. It needs some upgrades and renovations (the bathrooms, in particular, need some work) but the beach is lovely, the food was good, the staff were welcoming, and overall, we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Norway and South Africa

This is where you want to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We spent 2 nights at Azanzi and it was way too short! Upon our arival we got a room upgrade and stunning welcome drinks! We had the all inclusive package and it was so worth it! All meals were excellent! The resort is on the beach close to a bunch of activities Zanzibar has to offer. The resort staff are so helpful in arranging transport and guides for various activities! My wife had her birthday during our stay and the staff made it extra special by baking a cake and singing for her. All of the staff is very friendly and it felt that we had to say goodbye to very good friends when we left! Thank you for all the staff at Azanzi for giving us a holiday to remember!
2 out of 5
by DoubleAA from NY-FL

Overrated

Posted Oct 10, 2013
This is the sad moment of our stay in Zanzibar. I was fooled by the ratings of this hotel. This hotel did not live up to expectations for many reasons: room barely adequate for the steep price paid, bathroom like a student dormitory one with very very cheap components, negligence (we had to ask to change the whole bedding). We were surprised to find that this hotel has no TV nor Internet in the rooms. For an hotel that isolated and without other amusement at night, you can imagine how bored we were during those three nights spent there. I am not saying that is bad, I want to point that should have been clearly stated. Ownership and Travel sites should market this hotel as a specialty hotel (Scuba diving, isolation) and that it is not really suitable for the normal tourist. If you are looking for isolation, to be solitary or confined, this might be for you however. Also, the hotel layout is uncommon and the swimming pool is almost unusable because the water is always cold throughout the day. The swimming pool is not really exposed to the sun. It seems it was solely designed for scuba diving training. I stayed in four hotels in Tanzania/Zanzibar during two weeks. Sadly, this is the only one I cannot recommend.