Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dubai, uae

Beautiful hotel in front of the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, quality of the food and facilities.
Cons: Maybe better pillows and mattresses
Location: Not that much to do around close by, but you can book tours easily at the hotel. The hotel organizes a dinner on Mondays with live music.
If you are staying in Kiwengwa, Blu Marlin is the place to stay. The hotel is clean and very attractive. Nice swimming pool and an amazing view of the beach. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The food it's amazing. You feel like going out to a fancy Italian restaurant every night as per the quality of the food. Opportunities to book nice day trips to snorkel or to Stone town. It's a great place to have a relaxing beach holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, canada

Quaint. Quiet, close to beach

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I had a nice quiet relaxing time. I did not participate in the outside adventures that were offered so I can't comment on the value or experience but the food and service was acceptable and if you are looking to relax for good value it is a good choice
5 out of 5
by Tammy from Oregon

only one night

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
As we only stayed one night, it is hard to say much about the Blu Marlin. It was very nice, good food and they were very accommodating. We did get to ride horses on the beach, they set that up for us too! It was a nice place and the staff were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Sara from Austral ia

Most terrible service ever!

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
If you are Italian and want to travel to little Italy, eat poor Italian food, talk Italian and pay in expensive Euro prices, then Blu Marlin is the excellent place for you. However, if you're anything else than Italian and hoping on a holiday in Zanzibar with NORMAL customer service, half decent prices and anything non Italian, then you've definitely come to the wrong place. You need to decide straight after breakfast if you're having lunch and what you're having, and the same goes for dinner. Pasta and pizza (with barely any topping than tomato sauce) is basically the menu, costing you €10. More than 50% of the time the wrong dish was served with no excuse or compensation. Laundry costs €1 per piece for a hand wash. There was a power outage at least 2-3 times a day which also resulted in luke warm beers, waters and air conditioning not working throughout the night. The hotel facilities are nice and so are the Swahili staff, however unfortunately the Italian family owning this place have never understood the principle of customer service or to even put a smile on their faces. The hotel is located at the very end of the Kiwengwa beach meaning you have to walk for at least 15 minutes for any other food options. Thank God for the staff, service and food at Kiwi resort who made our stay in Zanzibar still as enjoyable as possible and reminding us that there are nice Italians as well outside of Blue Marlin. Many other Swedes and even Italians staying here had the same experience and we would therefor not recommending this place to anyone who would like to actually enjoy their holiday.
4 out of 5
by Razack Carrim from South Africa

Nice hotel in a remote location

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels
Small family owned hotel in a very remote location. Direct and immediate access to a quiet beach. Small TV in bar area only. Limited menu in the restaurant and very few eating options nearby. No outside food or beverages allowed in resort including water. No complimentary water in room so forced to buy at very expensive rates from the restaurant. Accommodation was at good value but food was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

excellent family hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: location.
Location: on the beach
very helpful, organised and friendly staff. tasty food. superb location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2012 on Hotels
My Ugandan friend and I spent 6 nights at the Blu Marlin. For the first 4 nights, we were the only guests at the lodging and thus received all the attention we could have wanted. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. The beach is nice and fine for swimming. The location is quite a distance from Stone Town and the airport, so it is rather expensive and takes quite a while to transfer into town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Kleine gepflegte Hotelanlage

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Sauberer Strand mit Liegen einschließlich eine Beschattung empfing uns. Die Anlage ist gepflegt, liegt umgeben von Häusern und Hütten der Bevölkerung. Halbpension ist empfehlenswert. Das Frühstück war spartanisch, die Omelette, im Preis enthalten, waren sehr gut, aber wer als letztes kommt kann Pech haben, dass das Buffet nicht mehr aufgefüllt wird. Die Handtücher wurden täglich gewechselt, denoch war immer der Eindruck, dass sie sich feucht anfühlten, da aufgrund von Regen immer eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit gegeben war.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bella Vacanza relax!

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Io e la mia compagna abbiamo passato una bellissima settimana in questa ottima struttura sul mare. Il personale e i proprietari(italiani) sono stati sempre molto cortesi e attenti alle varie esigenze e richieste.Camere sempre pulite e in ordine, buffet con sempre la scelta tra due primi(riso e pasta) due secondi,(carne, pesce,pollo) contorni vari,salse, frutta. Un grazie anche all'instancabile Eddy, per le bellissime escursioni fatte con lui. Consiglio di non affidarsi alle varie proposte escursive degl' innumerevoli beach boys, rivolgetevi a Eddy del Blu Marlin e non ve ne pentirete! Unica nota dolente il wifi.... veramente scarso, quasi impossibile fare qualsiasi cosa, consiglio di acquistare una sim locale!!(rivolgersi a Eddy)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malsch

Wie im Paradies

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Die Lage und die Gastfreundschaft der Menschen
Cons: Wir hatten nichts auszusetzen
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt am Strand im Fischerdorf Kuono Urembo in unmittelbarer Nähe gibt es nichts
Schönes kleines Hotel ,wir waren für 12 Nächte da haben unseren Aufenthalt sehr genossen.Die Lage am kilometerlangen, wei8en Sandstrand einfach super.Wir hatten ein Standardzimmer gebucht was klein ist aber für uns völlig ausreichend war ,Bad mit Dusche alles sauber . Bettwäsche wurde alle 2Tage gewechselt,Handtücher täglich.Essen war auch lecker .Wir hatten Vollpension was ich auch empfehlen würde da es sonst keine Möglichkeit zum Essen gibt. Es gab immer Büffett mit Pastagericht Fleisch ,Fisch, Gemüse, Salat und Beilagen.Frischer kann man Fisch nicht essen .Er wurde frisch gefangen vom Boot ins Hotel gebracht.Auch gibt es Möglichkeit Ausflüge zu machen mit Eddy er geht auf die Wünsche der Gäste ein und der Preis ist auch ok. Wir waren mit ihm schnorcheln und in Stone Town war schön.Das Hotel hat italienische Besitzer deshalb wird italienisch gesprochen und die meisten Gäste sind Italiener. einige sprechen auch englisch weshalb man sich sehr gut verständigen kann.Unser Fazit wir hatten einen sehr schönen Urlaub bei netten Menschen.